Blower Motor Humming - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 06:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower motor humming


This morning I noticed that the blower on the furnace was not working properly... it hums fairly loudly but doesn't spin at all. I was thinking it's either the capacitor or the motor, but I can't find a capacitor anywhere in the furnace.


Will I have to install a capacitor in order to replace the motor? Or can I just match the motor at a parts store and simply replace the old one? The furnace is ~30 years old and has a 3 speed motor.

Advertisement

k4ppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 06:20 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,458
Rewards Points: 4,562
Default

Blower motor humming


New motor, new capacitor. Post pics of motor, specially its data plate. or post the info on the data plate.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 06:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower motor humming


capacitor must match new motor..... it is possible all yo need is a capacitor though .....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower motor humming


I don't think the furnace has a capacitor. As far as I understand it should be mounted on the outside of the blower housing (connected along the blower motor wiring)... but there is nothing of the sort. Would I need to install a capacitor to replace the motor?

This is a picture of the motor label:

Last edited by k4ppa; 12-26-2012 at 08:14 PM.
k4ppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:24 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,458
Rewards Points: 4,562
Default

Blower motor humming


If it only has 4 wires coming out of it, then its a shaded pole motor, no capacitor.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
k4ppa (12-26-2012)
Old 12-26-2012, 08:53 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower motor humming


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If it only has 4 wires coming out of it, then its a shaded pole motor, no capacitor.
Thank you for the clarification. The motor does indeed have 4 wires coming out of it.

Anyone have any tips as far as removing the motor shaft from the fan?
I loosened the bolt on the shaft and got it to move quit a bit with the aid of a hammer and a little wd40... but the very last 2 inches or so will not budge.
k4ppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:28 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,458
Rewards Points: 4,562
Default

Blower motor humming


Hammer is not a good thing to use on the shaft as it tends to mush the shaft out so that the wheel won't slide over it. A hub puller is what I use.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-26-2012), k4ppa (12-27-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 09:39 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 09:06 AM
Blower cycling and vibration whatshappening HVAC 1 02-09-2010 05:48 AM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 10:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts