Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2013, 11:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Blower/fan wiring


I would like to wire in a continuous fan. I have a modern Thermostat. the furnace is not wired for a continuous fan, though it has connectors. I thought I could run a 24 volt to the Camstat that controls the Fan ON. As I look at it, I think it will just turn the furnace on. What are options to wire in a fan only switch/relay, just to run on low.

thanks,
knickityknack
Attached Thumbnails
Blower/fan wiring-img_9198.jpg   Blower/fan wiring-img_6393.jpg   Blower/fan wiring-img_3739.jpg   Blower/fan wiring-img_0410.jpg  


Last edited by knickityknack; 10-26-2013 at 10:47 PM.
knickityknack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 02:59 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Brand and model number of furnace would help. Also a pic of the controls on it.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 04:57 PM   #3
Member
 
FClef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 213
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Continuously running fans in a furnace is great if done correctly. Done correctly. You must be able to control the speed of the fan because the fan will be running constantly and you do not want cold drafts coming from it, in fact you barely want to feel that air.
__________________

"Human beings can always be relied upon to assert, with vigor, their God-given right to be stupid"
Dean Koontz - Seize The Night
FClef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 01:03 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Blower/fan wiring


I would like to wire in a continuous fan. I have a modern Thermostat. the furnace is not wired for a continuous fan, though it has connectors. I thought I could run a 24 volt to the Camstat that controls the Fan ON. As I look at it, I think it will just turn the furnace on. What are options to wire in a fan only switch/relay, just to run on low.

This is an old Wesco Furnace.


Education please; Why does it have a 24 volt converter and still plug in to a 24 volt 24 DC relay. Aren't most of these AC

Please if you want more pictures or info let me know.

Have Fun

thanks,
knickityknack
Attached Thumbnails
Blower/fan wiring-img_9198.jpg   Blower/fan wiring-img_7259.jpg   Blower/fan wiring-img_6580.jpg   Blower/fan wiring-img_6393.jpg   Blower/fan wiring-img_0410.jpg  

Blower/fan wiring-img_2061.jpg  
knickityknack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 03:40 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,236
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Have fun? Coste Plente for free advice.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 10:45 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Hi Beenthere, any idea on wiring in a fan only relay/switch. old Wesco furnace.
I have picture up on another thread.

thanks,
Knickityknack
knickityknack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 11:05 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Diagram shows you have an A/C relay. Do you.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 11:19 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Blower/fan wiring


I must. however this picture of a relay confused me.
Attached Thumbnails
Blower/fan wiring-img_4806.jpg  
knickityknack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 11:24 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Why. It works doesn't it.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 12:44 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Blower/fan wiring


DOES ANYONE KNOW!??? How to add a Fan/only relay/switch to a furnace? What are the different options? Lets give advise about how to do the task at hand? All the advise that is provided and statements are great, but there are no answers to the question.
knickityknack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 01:35 PM   #11
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,369
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Post a pic of the schematic and one of the indigenous HVAC wizards will be able to help you.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 05:24 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Hard to help. When you don't get an answer to the questions you need answered, to give the help.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 09:48 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Blower/fan wiring


i was concerned because it went from AC to DC, Didn't think that was right with out running through a converter. But, Yes, Everything works on the furnace, including, AC converter and relay. Here are pictures of the wiring diagrams. Looks like the G wire goes to the AC relay (RBM -91) attaching to the other side of the coil. I don't have Air Conditioning.
I just would like to run on low speed.

thanks, have a great weekend.
Attached Thumbnails
Blower/fan wiring-img_1854-1-.jpg  
knickityknack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 10:49 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Blower/fan wiring


right side up!
Attached Thumbnails
Blower/fan wiring-img_1854.jpg   Blower/fan wiring-img_1854-1-.jpg  
knickityknack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 03:41 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Blower/fan wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by knickityknack View Post
right side up!
The middle relay of the upper pic, is the fan relay. You need to connect the wire from it to where teh wire from the thermostat's G terminal connects.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with wiring issues on a newly purchased house ThatGuy Electrical 13 01-17-2012 10:51 AM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.