Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2008, 05:22 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


The new board arrived today. ICM271C to replace my CES0110018 printed on the orig board.
I read all the instructions and installed it (w/ 3Amp car fuse in).

Tstat in OFF, plugged in the furnace power chord and pressed the access panel interlock switch-- the blower didn't come on. whew

Tstat to Htg mode and setpoint to bring heat...
The ignitor began clicking in a few seconds as normal, the burner fired.. but the blower didn't start.

Tstat to Clg mode and setpoint for Clg. Within a couple seconds the condensing unit started but not the Blower fan.

Also the FAN button on the Tstat will not start & stop the blower like it used to.

Yikes. Now what? Off to search forum for similar prob. -Mark

epowerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 05:46 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Quote:
Originally Posted by epowerfan View Post
The new board arrived today. ICM271C to replace my CES0110018 printed on the orig board.
I read all the instructions and installed it (w/ 3Amp car fuse in).

Tstat in OFF, plugged in the furnace power chord and pressed the access panel interlock switch-- the blower didn't come on. whew

Tstat to Htg mode and setpoint to bring heat...
The ignitor began clicking in a few seconds as normal, the burner fired.. but the blower didn't start.

Tstat to Clg mode and setpoint for Clg. Within a couple seconds the condensing unit started but not the Blower fan.

Also the FAN button on the Tstat will not start & stop the blower like it used to.

Yikes. Now what? Off to search forum for similar prob. -Mark

double check your wireing sounds like a bad board read motor terminals on board for voltage when you know it should be present fan "on" for example. (read at hi speed terminal). use tape to hold door switch in (if your not doing that already)
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:15 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Ok, hope I do this right.
First a confession. When I removed the orig board I labeled the green Tstat wire just "G", when it went to either GH or GC. Should the Green wire from the Tstat terminate at GH or GC?

The orig board has a wire jumper (J1) between GH and the R terminal adjacent. The new board has a (JW-1) that looks like some kinda little diode / jumper? I can't tell what it jumps. http://www.icmcontrols.com/downloads/icm271_ag.pdf

Disconnected the HI and LO connectors to the fan. Tsat to Fan ON, pressed the door switch and measured for VAC between HI and COM, and LO and COM.

It read .5V AC HI-COM.

and 2.5V AC LO-COM. (Voltage was same whether the G Tstat wire to GH or GC)

Also the new board Umanual Tshooting says,
No fan output in heat mode: Verify that you have 24 volts between W and C. Check-- 27 VAC
Make sure you have continuity between the GAS1 and GAS3 terminals. I measured .65 K-Ohms between GAS1 & GAS3. **Could this be the problem?

Blower control board
The guy in this thread found a GAS1-to-GAS3 jumper on his orig board. My orig board has no jumper GAS1-GAS3, and I measured 370 KOhms between GAS1 & 3 while sitting on the table.
epowerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:25 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Quote:
Originally Posted by epowerfan View Post
Ok, hope I do this right.
First a confession. When I removed the orig board I labeled the green Tstat wire just "G", when it went to either GH or GC. Should the Green wire from the Tstat terminate at GH or GC?

The orig board has a wire jumper (J1) between GH and the R terminal adjacent. The new board has a (JW-1) that looks like some kinda little diode / jumper? I can't tell what it jumps. http://www.icmcontrols.com/downloads/icm271_ag.pdf

Disconnected the HI and LO connectors to the fan. Tsat to Fan ON, pressed the door switch and measured for VAC between HI and COM, and LO and COM.

It read .5V AC HI-COM.

and 2.5V AC LO-COM. (Voltage was same whether the G Tstat wire to GH or GC)

Also the new board Umanual Tshooting says,
No fan output in heat mode: Verify that you have 24 volts between W and C. Check-- 27 VAC
Make sure you have continuity between the GAS1 and GAS3 terminals. I measured .65 K-Ohms between GAS1 & GAS3. **Could this be the problem?

Blower control board
The guy in this thread found a GAS1-to-GAS3 jumper on his orig board. My orig board has no jumper GAS1-GAS3, and I measured 370 KOhms between GAS1 & 3 while sitting on the table.
youre not reading resistance only continuity its either open or closed and your reading the limit circuit so its got to be done while installed and wired.like last time if flame starts limits are good
G wire at gc

if flame starts and no fan you either got wrong/bad board


try pulling one of the wires off the limit see if the fan starts as tho the limit opened

wasnt the last numbers in your old board a 16 if so i dont see that board you put the link to as being a replacement for the 16 board ok i see where i got the 16 from it was from the relay nevermind

Last edited by kennzz05; 11-19-2008 at 09:43 PM.
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 10:32 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Thanks Kennz, I'll keep the G wire to GC.

I pulled one connector off of the hi limit, and the blower still won't turn on.

I read the manual on my Fluke MM and (duh) set it for continuity w/ beeper. The new board beeps 'closed' as soon as call for fan & push door switch.

What do you think about the GH-to-R jumper on the orig board? -Mark
epowerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 10:38 PM   #36
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Quote:
Originally Posted by epowerfan View Post
Thanks Kennz, I'll keep the G wire to GC.

I pulled one connector off of the hi limit, and the blower still won't turn on.

I read the manual on my Fluke MM and (duh) set it for continuity w/ beeper. The new board beeps 'closed' as soon as call for fan & push door switch.

What do you think about the GH-to-R jumper on the orig board? -Mark
there's the problem . Fluke meter.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 10:52 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Quote:
Originally Posted by epowerfan View Post
Thanks Kennz, I'll keep the G wire to GC.

I pulled one connector off of the hi limit, and the blower still won't turn on.

I read the manual on my Fluke MM and (duh) set it for continuity w/ beeper. The new board beeps 'closed' as soon as call for fan & push door switch.

What do you think about the GH-to-R jumper on the orig board? -Mark
read over that link you posted id leave the board as is no jumper cutting but i really think you have a bad board, hate to tell you but at this point id return the board and call someone to fix it youve spent enough time on it and have no results if your comrortable doing this just so you have heat run 120v to the low speed wire on the board so you can at least have heat again (this will give you constant fan as you had before) i think i remember you saying it would fire up just no fan correct?
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 11:27 PM   #38
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
read over that link you posted id leave the board as is no jumper cutting but i really think you have a bad board, hate to tell you but at this point id return the board and call someone to fix it youve spent enough time on it and have no results if your comrortable doing this just so you have heat run 120v to the low speed wire on the board so you can at least have heat again (this will give you constant fan as you had before) i think i remember you saying it would fire up just no fan correct?
Did anybody mention that board has an adjustment that if turned down too low no fan operation occurs.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 11:30 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Did anybody mention that board has an adjustment that if turned down too low no fan operation occurs.
off delay is fixed non adj 105 sec
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 11:34 PM   #40
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Did you check to see if voltage was coming off the board for the heat speed?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 11:41 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Did you check to see if voltage was coming off the board for the heat speed?

yea he did its mentioned in the 3rd post on this page
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 12:04 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Well if the new board's bad, so be it. Rare, but happens; I'd like to rule out other possibles before asking the merchant for exchange or return.

Something I don't understand on P. 3 of the new board's App guide: attached screenshot

The right column of Blower Operating Modes seems to describe how the unit normally used to operate. Not cut any resistor or jumper unless it was cut on the old board... well, the old board doesn't have an R17. I've got a higher-res digcam back in service, I can post pics of the orig board.

I might try calling ICM Controls to see if they have any tech support. Don't know what to make of the jumper on the orig board between the GH-and-R terminals, vs. JW-1 on the new board. -Mark
Attached Thumbnails
Blower fan runs constantly-screenhunter_02-nov.-20.jpg  
epowerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:48 PM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Ok consensus board bad.
ICM Controls gave good support. JW-1 on new board is a zero-Ohm jumper GH to R, just like orig. Confirmed R17 should remain as-is.

Tested SEC-1 to SEC-2 for 24VAC -yes. Tested Line1 to Line2 for 120VAC -yes. Transformer's good.

He had me jump GAS-1 to GAS-3 and jump Lim-1 to Lim-2 then call for heat by jump R-to-W. Said if the fan still doesn't start the board's bad.
The burner fired right away, but no fan start even over 2 mins later. I confirmed no 120V on COM-LO & COM-HI so it's not wires/connectors.

Offta exchange the board. Thanks for all the help here guys-- I learned a lot and am grateful. -Mark
epowerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 03:19 PM   #44
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


Man you gotta be an engineer...
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 04:09 PM   #45
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower fan runs constantly


LOL yeah

epowerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blower runs, with no heat captjack HVAC 6 12-14-2010 02:15 PM
furnace blower constantly running HELP! ice_wolf69 HVAC 16 10-26-2008 06:11 PM
Trane Carrier XL80 fan runs constantly when switch is on jheavner HVAC 13 10-25-2008 09:54 PM
RUUD furnace not working blower runs ddeatrick99@hotmail.com HVAC 2 01-16-2008 09:55 PM
Blower fan runs continuously mgeller HVAC 5 04-19-2007 09:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.