Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2010, 08:20 PM   #1
I like laughing lions!
 
AboveTheBULL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower continuously running


Odd problem.

Heil/ICP PGAA36D1K1 residential package A/C-Heat system. Just replaced condenser fan motor and capacitor after condenser fan failed (thank you, beenthere, for the guidance). System puts out cold air now, but I now have another problem: the blower motor won't turn off. I can turn it from "cool" to "off", and it won't make any difference. Blower continues to, well, blow....

What could be the problem?

AboveTheBULL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 09:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Blower continuously running


Check to see if a wire came off of the limit switch.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
plummen (08-30-2012)
Old 07-01-2010, 06:54 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,506
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

Blower continuously running


Also, make sure you didn't switch the fan switch to "on" by accident.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 09:59 PM   #4
I like laughing lions!
 
AboveTheBULL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower continuously running


Thank you, Marty and beenthere... and happy 4th of July!

To follow up, I already made sure the fan switch is in the "auto" position as normal. I also double checked all wires, and I am certain nothing was left unattached.

I talked to my Mom, and it appears the unit had been doing this for a couple weeks before the condenser fan went out. In a nutshell, the system would engage and bring the interior temp down to the selected level, and then the condenser fan and compressor would shut off. But the blower would keep blowing.

I see now that this is not consistent. Lately, the outside temps have been a bit lower (thank goodness!), and for some reason, the system has been operating more properly -- ie. it will either turn off correctly -or- the blower will turn off up to 3 minutes after the condenser and compressor have shut off. But at least the blower's now shutting off!

So... any ideas? In the automotive world, I would search the wiring schematic for a relay or sticking switch. Of course, I cannot find any schematic for this unit. Anyway, am I on the right track? Any ideas? Anyone? LOL...

Again, this is a 1991 model Heil/ICP package unit (model# PGAA36D1K1). Thanks in advance! And Happy 4th!!!

Last edited by AboveTheBULL; 07-05-2010 at 12:12 AM.
AboveTheBULL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 07:43 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,506
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

Blower continuously running


Could be the relay on the control board is sticking.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (08-29-2012)
Old 08-29-2012, 06:28 PM   #6
I like laughing lions!
 
AboveTheBULL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower continuously running


Evening!

So, I didn't do anything to it back then -- it just seemed to work out it's issues and performed well for about 2 years. But... today, I swing by the house and the inside blower's running, but only hot/outside air is coming out the vents. And my goodness, it's registering 86 degrees on the thermostat (HOTT!!!)

I investigate... and just like 2 years ago when I started this thread, the inside blower was running... but the outside unit was not (not even the condenser fan was running). So, I pulled the circuit breaker at the unit, waited 10 minutes, put it back in, and now the unit comes to life and cools the house down.

Ok, so the phantom problem is back. Am I looking at needing to replace a limit switch or something? Mom's dead-set on just buying a brand new unit from Costco , but she's on disability -- and I would really cringe at the idea of doing that when a simple $30 switch could have been the fix.

Any ideas, friends?
AboveTheBULL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 06:52 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,506
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

Blower continuously running


Could be a weak limit switch.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
AboveTheBULL (08-30-2012)
Old 08-30-2012, 03:38 AM   #8
I like laughing lions!
 
AboveTheBULL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower continuously running


Two awesome ideas, beenthere! Two years after you helped me last (with great results), I still know *just* enough about home HVAC to get myself fried good! Is there a way you could steer me in the right direction of parts testing? I've got several multimeters -- digital and analog -- and I'm hoping I can figure this out tomorrow before the super storms blanket the area thanks to Hurricane Isaac. The model number of the unit is Heil/ICP PGAA36D1K1.
AboveTheBULL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:02 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,506
Rewards Points: 2,692
Default

Blower continuously running


Its not a package unit I'm familiar with the layout of. But the high limit will generally be near the heat exchanger, and have 2 wires on it, both low voltage, that go back to the control board. You can ohm it, it should be closed.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 01:21 AM
Inside Blower motor keeps running crawlerchris HVAC 1 12-19-2009 08:01 PM
RPJ2 Blower fan will not stop running number22 HVAC 8 07-19-2009 05:27 PM
Blower operates continuously ryan0320 HVAC 3 12-03-2007 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.