Bigger Vent Needed? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2009, 09:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

bigger vent needed?


tomorrow i'm hooking a hot water heater up to do some radiant floor heating for us. i want to run this out the same 3" vent out the roof as the domestic use hot water heater.

a contractor friend would be more comfortable upsizing it to 4".

is this necessary?

thx

Advertisement

DIYgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 09:54 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 14,976
Rewards Points: 594
Default


You may need 5". Each water heater is about 35,000 to 40,000 BTU's. Chimneys are sized according to the amount of BTU's into them AND the vertical rise AND this needs to be determined by the gas code book and a gas fitter with knowledge of how to use and interpret it. Undersize the chimney and you will get fumes in the house or flamerollout and possible fire and insurance company problems.

Advertisement

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 05:13 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 33,238
Rewards Points: 5,442
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
You may need 5". Each water heater is about 35,000 to 40,000 BTU's. Chimneys are sized according to the amount of BTU's into them AND the vertical rise AND this needs to be determined by the gas code book and a gas fitter with knowledge of how to use and interpret it. Undersize the chimney and you will get fumes in the house or flamerollout and possible fire and insurance company problems.
Or just a dead family.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 09:36 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 14,976
Rewards Points: 594
Default


Colorless, odorless and LETHAL that CO gas.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:22 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs up

went direct (power) vent


keeping the original vent for the 1st water heater.
put in a power vent.
thanks for all your input.

also found this jewel...

http://www.duravent.com/pdf/shbook.pdf
DIYgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 10:29 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 14,976
Rewards Points: 594
Default


VERY nice link. Thanks

Advertisement

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cathedral ceilings--ridge vent needed, or not? Larenda Roofing/Siding 5 06-04-2009 09:32 PM
AAV or Studor Vent Needed for this Tub and Shower Drain? BillyDIY Plumbing 1 12-17-2008 12:11 AM
pre-stubbed basement bath vent needed? ameleus Plumbing 7 09-21-2008 11:26 AM
Source needed: 6" Vent Hood for siding STEPHENWANGEL Remodeling 8 09-01-2007 11:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1