Best Product To "seal" Access Panel In Hvac Duct? - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2012, 12:23 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Will do. I really appreciate all the help. It's nice to have someone to talk to about this, haha.

Triangle ducting? This is 12"x18" metal trunk line that branches out to flex lines.

Advertisement

mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:32 PM   #17
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegp View Post
Will do. I really appreciate all the help. It's nice to have someone to talk to about this, haha.

Triangle ducting? This is 12"x18" metal trunk line that branches out to flex lines.
Hey, no problem. That's why we're here.

The flex line, right where they take off from the metal trunk line, is where the dampers go. You can find them in each size for each flex duct.

Is there already a flex line going to the basement or not? I have a feeling all you're really going to have to do is add one run to the basement from the trunk line and then, if the air flow is not strong enough, add dampers to balance the air.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:37 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


I have dampers where the flex line meets. You'll see why this won't work when I post the pics. The air handler for the first floor is in the basement and feeds all of the first floor. So no there isn't a flex line going to the basement.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 06:00 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Why do you need to shut off all of the air to the first floor, when you want heat in the basement?

As Doc said, a separate line for the basement. plus add a damper in the trunk that goes to the first floor, and one in the trunk that goes to the basement. open and close them as needed.

You could also then, add a zoning panel and use motorized dampers, that opened and closed automatically by thermostat control.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 06:47 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


I want full control. If I'm heating the basement I don't want to have to heat the first floor. There are times when the basement may be cold and upstairs is hot. Right now it's 75 on my first floor and about 50 in my basement.

And as mentioned earlier, I would love to put a damper in the main trunk, but can't find any that are 12x18. Plus the door would still need to be there because I'll have to seal off the basement sometimes. Adding a line from the trunk is just adding extra work and cost for the same final product.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:49 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?










mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:52 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Sorry for the crap pics, Photobucket changed the res plus I think they were blurry to begin with.

Left side trunk is the return. Right side is the supply. I would like to put the register before the flex lines split off before the i-beam. The return would have to be as far as possible from the register I imagine so over in the left corner.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:54 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


The air handler is in the room with the door. I am also rerouting the line that goes under the beam on the right so I can have a cleaner soffit.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:21 AM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


12X18 would need to be made up by a shop. Local fab shops can make one for you. Same with your door idea.

Zoning it would make it so that each floor is controlled independent of the other. While more money and work up front. Its no work when you want to use the room.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:39 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Even with the damper in there, I would still need to make the door. Unless I'm missing an easier way to do it. Say I open the damper to cool the upstairs. Now I still have a huge hole letting a ton of air into the basement. That make sense?
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:57 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Though there is a damper that is like blinds where the slats rotate. I would need to put one in the bottom of the duct and one in the duct. I'm sure they don't have an airtight seal though.

I was thinking if the duct is say 18 inches wide on the bottom. I could cut a 16.5x16.5 hole and then put maybe a 17 and 3/4" door in there with rigid or soft foam around it to form somewhat of a seal when it is upright. Maybe use a magnet in the duct to hold it open. i would still have a lip in the bottom of the duct to screw the door down to. maybe with wing nuts or something. It will be a pain to open and close, but since it's just the basement, temps don't normally call for heat or ac.

Also was thinking I could make the hole longer, maybe 17x24 or whatever to keep the backpressure down. Don't know how to calc it, but I'm sure the system blows stronger to get air upstairs through multiple lines than it would to just blow out the main duct 10 feet from the handler. So maybe making the hole bigger would keep stress off the sytem and cool/heat down there faster.

Thoughts/ideas?
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 04:17 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Are you going to do the same with the return? If your going to put all the air to that basement room, then you need to have as much return as you have supply.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:12 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Are you going to do the same with the return? If your going to put all the air to that basement room, then you need to have as much return as you have supply.
Yes, that's the plan so far.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:01 PM   #29
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


Yuppers, I'd zone the system. Probably have to reconfigure the ducts to accomodate but that's the best (and most importantly design specific) method to heat/cool one area and not the other if that's what you're wanting to do.

Two or three, even up to four thermostats for one sysem.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:05 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Best product to "seal" access panel in hvac duct?


A zone system is still the best way to go, instead of having to adjust 2 dampers everytime you want to use the basement. And letting the upstairs get cold.

A hinged trap door that measures 1" less then the width of your duct and is 1/2" shorter then the duct that swings up will work. it will block 90% of so of the air from going to the first floor.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drywall access panel question priestj Drywall & Plaster 4 03-13-2012 09:14 AM
Installing a cat flap/pet access door on a standard interior panel door? GordCooper Remodeling 7 03-08-2012 10:02 PM
removing access panel on jetted tub zamboni Plumbing 2 01-30-2012 10:23 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 11:49 AM
HVAC duct through a fire rated wall elmaur Building & Construction 2 05-30-2011 01:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts