Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2008, 06:01 PM   #1
First-time Home Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Question

Before I confirm with the HVAC guy...


...is there anything I need to ask about or be aware of before they come?

After talking with 4 of these guys and doing some of my own research, we decided to get a 2.5 ton 13 SEER A/C and a 90K, 80% furnace. We went for 13 SEER 80% because we're only here for a couple years, and most buyers don't check what brand or what kind, they just see "new". And regardless, it's better than the old clunkers we have.

The A/C size still concerns us a little because we have 4 quotes and 3 different sizes. Two said 2.5, one said 3, and one said 4. We decided on 2.5 because both of the guys who gave that number seemed to run a few more calculations and gathered more information about the house.

We're not getting a humidifier, and the filter is just a media filter.

So, before I write these guys a check, is there anything else I need to know about or ask them about? We're a little nervous because these guys seem to enjoy keeping us in the dark, and that puts us on edge before we write a big check.

ciera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 05:55 AM   #2
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Before I confirm with the HVAC guy...


A rough estimate for your cooling needs would be one ton of AC for every 600sqft of space. There are several variables that can be taken into consideration, but that will get you very close.

A 90,000btu furnace would indicate that your home is over 2000sqft. A 21/2 ton AC indicates your home is 1500sqft. Which is it, and why does there seem to be a conflict.

Ask for a copy of the calculations they were doing. If the furnace is oversized, or the AC is undersized, that adds up to a lot of unecessary energy costs, and a reduced life span for you and the equipment. There may be a good reason, but it pays to be sure before you write the check.

Spent some time in Pittsburg...beautiful city, airport...hmmmm...


Last edited by 8 Ball; 08-21-2008 at 06:07 AM.
8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 09:08 AM   #3
First-time Home Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Before I confirm with the HVAC guy...


Our home is 2000 sq feet, but that includes the 3rd floor. There's ductwork that goes up there, but we closed the register. Without the 3rd floor, we've got about 1800 square feet.

The airport here is actually pretty nice. Free wireless, easy to navigate, lots of shops, and no high prices by county law. Unfortunately, they're cutting the number of flights....

Last edited by ciera; 08-21-2008 at 09:10 AM.
ciera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 06:43 PM   #4
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Before I confirm with the HVAC guy...


Well then you would need the 3 ton unit, at the very least. If you can dont skimp on the AC, you wont regret it.

Enjoyed the Italian markets, toured the sub and museum, went down to "Falling Water", had dinner at "Morts" and really enjoyed the view of the city and 3 rivers at night coming accross the bridge from "Polish Hill", from the back of the patrol car.

8 Ball had a wild streak. I was trying to locate a bakery...really.

Was there for "LINK" management training.

Last edited by 8 Ball; 08-21-2008 at 09:36 PM.
8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 07:58 AM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Before I confirm with the HVAC guy...


Yep, a 3 tonne should be put in. Just because you close off the 3rd floor, doesn't mean the new owners in a couple years will. Even with the 3rd closed bringing you to 1800 sq, I'd still use a 3 tonne.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 02:43 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 08:28 AM
HVAC plans for remodel wease HVAC 3 03-23-2011 11:47 AM
HVAC Options-Recommendations? MIMaguire HVAC 17 06-10-2008 08:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.