Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2009, 10:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


Hi, I need to install a duct system to vent three bathrooms up to the roof and a seperate duct for three kitchenettes. i know the ducts need to be metal. However, does it matter if they are round or rectangular in shape? What size do they need to be? My understanding is that i do not require a roof fan. Any help is greatley appreciated.
zaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 10:21 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


To simply tell you what size ducts you need is a loaded question.

WHY? Because of all the variables. Here are some.

1. Size of house..sq ft
2. Tightness of house..Does it draft or sealed tight
3. Length of runs
4. Walls/attic/crawl space to penatrate
5. HP/Forced heat

These are just some. Advise is that you have a Pro come to your house and properly size your system..even if you have to pay them.

Don't get me wrong I not trying to be an azz it is just hard to size a system without seeing it.

Good luck
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 10:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 146
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


Am I right in that this is a venting question and has nothing to do with with HVAC?
mjbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 10:37 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


what does the V in HVAC stand for?
zaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 10:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


Plumber101,

I appreciate that. here are more details; the building is not tight, each apt is about 600 sq. feet with the kitchens being 80 and bath about 50 sq. feet. from the ground floor thru the roof is a distance of 35'. i would be starting at the first floor and tying in at the second and third floors to the main duct. the bath fans will be a foot away from the duct and the kitchen exhaust is about 4' with a 90 angle. the heating system is steam.
zaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 10:58 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjbxx View Post
Am I right in that this is a venting question and has nothing to do with with HVAC?

My bad. You all are right I assumed it was for conditioned air and not simply a vent.

So lets try this again. You say you are running this into an attic. Are you planning to terminate to exterior?

All vents need to terminate to the exterior and not just into the attic.

Round or square it doesn't matter as long as the size of duct will handle the cfm of the appliance. You can connect individual vents to a common vent as long as the common vent can handle ALL individual appliances that connect will vent properly when all appliances are operated at the same time.

Sometimes it is easier to run a horz run than try to run 35 ft vert

Last edited by Plumber101; 03-22-2009 at 11:07 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 11:11 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


Thank You Sir,

Yes it will be exhausting to the outside. Now for my silly question, how do i calculate the duct size based on cfm of the appliances?


mjbxx: i may have misunderstood your statement, my apologies.
zaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 11:19 PM   #8
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


Try this link


http://efficientcomfort.net/jsp/ResDuct_Web.jsp
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 04:47 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


May need back draft dampers.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 04:39 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


Or fire dampers between apartments. Check with the city.
Mazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 04:42 PM   #11
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

bath & kitchen ducts


Quote:
Originally Posted by zaba View Post
what does the V in HVAC stand for?


Focking good one!
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen and bath cabinet source? tmpyankee Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 3 01-06-2009 07:12 PM
Urgent help on leaking bath tub to kitchen surepan Plumbing 6 05-05-2008 05:39 AM
Bath entrance inside kitchen area rich121 General DIY Discussions 1 12-16-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.