Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-11-2010, 01:18 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Basic wiring question

What is the voltage read across W & C at the furnace? 24 volts?

Is C normally hot and W becomes hot (or visa-versa) with a call for heat?

Thanks.

veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 04:13 PM   #2

Basic wiring question

In my recent learning curve of the transformer and its associated wiring, the "hot" is the R going to your thermostat. when the call for heat is switched it then travels back in the W. The C is the common or the ground. However, I will not pretend that I am an expert by any means. It is simply my understanding as I just had to figure out the intracies of the transformer this weekend.

scarpen01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 06:49 PM   #3

Basic wiring question

scarpen01 you are exactly correct
tk03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:33 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb

Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Rewards Points: 30

Basic wiring question

what he said!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:37 PM   #5

Basic wiring question

I replaced my transformer and it reads 26 volts does the 2 volts make a difference or just that it is new?
jmhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 12:43 AM   #6

Basic wiring question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmhai View Post
I replaced my transformer and it reads 26 volts does the 2 volts make a difference or just that it is new?

no dosent matter and age is irrelivent
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:02 AM   #7

Basic wiring question

Thanks to all who responded.

Just one follow-up question: Am I correct that with NO call for heat, there would be zero (0) volts measured between W and ground?

Thanks.

V
Old 01-12-2010, 10:03 AM   #8

Basic wiring question