Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2011, 10:44 AM   #1
Member
 
buckybadger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 93
Share |
Default

Basement Remodel - HVAC Code Question


I'll hopefully be getting my framing and electrical permits finaled next week. I did not pull a warm air/sheet metal permit on this project because there were already two supply vents in the ceiling before I started and while I took out the previous drop ceiling, I replaced it with another drop ceiling (CeilingMax, Ceilume). I could clearly tell the vents were installed a long time ago and the furnace was installed by the previous homeowner about five years ago. I would like to assume (I know, dangerous) that the installer took these supply vents into account when calibrating the new furnace. (Lennox G60UH-36A-070-06, 54k BTU Output, on about 1300 sq ft.)

My question arises from the fact that when I passed my framing rough in the inspector made a comment about what the heat source was down there, got distracted by something else, and didn't really question me any further about it. I was hesitant to point out the existing vents for fear that he'd want me to get a permit for it to make sure it meets current code. As far as I'm concerned I'm fine with the existing setup and except for changing the ceiling material around the vents haven't made any other alterations to the HVAC system.

At this point I'm not sure if it's better to leave the vents uninstalled or have them visible and in place for the final. I'm just really afraid of getting some overzealous inspector who will try to make me get a new permit on the premise that what was installed there before doesn't apply now; not really looking to overhaul my HVAC system over adding a game room to the basement.

By the way, the plan review desk didn't make any comments about HVAC in the space and just had me pull a framing and electrical permit.

buckybadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 04:56 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,843
Default

Basement Remodel - HVAC Code Question


That furnace should be plenty for a 1300 sq ft house. May need a return in that room to heat it right.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 05:34 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,295
Default

Basement Remodel - HVAC Code Question


I doubt they are interested in your vents as long as they look neat and the main hot air duct has 1" clearance from the joists it should be OK. There is usually a "Grandfather Clause" that if it was OK before they don't usually make you redo things.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement framing - drywall ceiling question tmhouse Building & Construction 1 07-11-2011 12:11 PM
Figuring HVAC Needs in Basement cdhen14 HVAC 12 06-03-2010 06:26 AM
Questions about insulation in basement remodel BillG Remodeling 1 04-27-2010 08:15 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Remodel style recessed light code question bjstewa Electrical 8 05-22-2008 09:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.