Backfires -new Goodman 95% - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2010, 09:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Backfires -new goodman 95%


I purchased a goodman furnace on ebay and had what I thought was AC specialist install it. Ran fine (continuously I think) for hours getting the temp from 60 to 70 than began to back fire about a dozen times in the 15 seconds it took for me to figure out what was going on and turn the system off.

Hellp please,

Advertisement

arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Backfires -new goodman 95%


Read the installation instructions and make sure the venting ,condensate and gas pressures are correct.

Advertisement

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 11:22 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Backfires -new goodman 95%


dual pipe system. 2" about 20 ft. 5 bends each. Gas company privides 5 gas pressure. Did not see techs check this or system pressure. I suspect back fires occured after end of cycle. COuld something have gotten into the gas valve preventing it from closing completely at end of cycle?


These guys are comming back but I think I am going to have to diagnose this,
They were trying to tell me the gas companys pressure regulater is wrong for this system, I think its BS.

Guess this is what happens when you wait the last minute.
Thanks
arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 11:27 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Backfires -new goodman 95%


Horizontal installation. I think we got the two condensate hoses correct. But we did not have time to install the water trap. Flue iS flue is tilted towards the unit but I did notice water at the flue exit "T"
u\
i
arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:15 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Backfires -new goodman 95%


5 what gas pressure.
5 inches? 5 pounds?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 02:21 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Backfires -new goodman 95%


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
5 what gas pressure.
5 inches? 5 pounds?
My short term memory is shot. Only a little better than my long term. So I left it off because I couldn't remember which.

No backfires today but did get E9 high pressure switch open. Diags said check hose. Guess what...hose in wrong place. Adjacent drain hose not there either. It was wrong place too.

Thanks guys. Things are looking up.

Get the champagne
arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:55 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Backfires -new goodman 95%


Thanks all. Seems fixing the drains solved the backfires.

Advertisement

arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman air handler adjustment Xander08 HVAC 2 12-24-2009 03:32 PM
goodman 3ton dhop11 HVAC 2 11-14-2009 01:02 PM
Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil wtroger HVAC 10 09-16-2009 04:52 AM
Replacing an 20 year old gas forced air with a 95% 2 stage goodman, goodman 40" tall, englewood1 HVAC 12 09-26-2007 12:37 AM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 08:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts