Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2011, 11:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Aux Heat Not working with Heat Pump


I'm hoping someone on here can give me some help because this problem has been driving me crazy for over 3 years.

We have a new construction house that is now 3 years old. We have a heatpump system with a NG furnace as the aux/backup controlled by a honeywell 8320 thermostat.

Heatpump works flawlessly for 10 months out of the year but once the outside temp gets below 30 the heatpump turns off and the aux doesn't start. If I select the "EM Heat" setting then the furnace will work properly.

I would like the furnace to come on as an auxillery heat while the HP is still running or at the very least switch the HP off and turn the gas furnace on.

I have went into the installer settings and changed the balancepoint to 25 instead of 30 which should keep the HP running a little longer, but still doesn't solve the core problem.

Here is the photo of the wiring:


It is a little hard to see but from what I have read already is that I could jumper the "E" wire to the "AUX" wire and things should work as I expect; however, there is already a black wire running the "AUX".

I'm temped to disconnect the black wire and jumper the white wire to the AUX terminal and see what happens.

Thanks in advance for any help.

UPDATE: So I decided to put a jumper into place between the E and W2 terminals. This worked kindof. When putting the thermostat into test mode and attempting to engage the aux heat the heat pump turned off, air handler turned off, furnace fired, air handler turned on. Overall this is a workable solution, but my ideal solution would be for the heat pump to remain on and just have the aux be supplemental until the thermostat reaches the desired temp.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by quamism; 10-26-2011 at 12:30 PM. Reason: more info
quamism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 03:01 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Aux Heat Not working with Heat Pump


Just an update:

Seems like my jumper fix did the job as the furnace and the HP can't run at the same time.
quamism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 04:17 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,451
Default

Aux Heat Not working with Heat Pump


What model number is that thermostat?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 04:34 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,911
Default

Aux Heat Not working with Heat Pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
What model number is that thermostat?
controlled by a honeywell 8320 thermostat.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 04:38 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,451
Default

Aux Heat Not working with Heat Pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
controlled by a honeywell 8320 thermostat.
I missed that whole sentence.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 04:40 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,451
Default

Aux Heat Not working with Heat Pump


Post your installer set up settings. Don't need a jumper from E to W2 for it to work.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Gas heat during Defrost mgroves HVAC 15 12-18-2010 05:51 PM
Carrier Heat Pump stopped working burnselk HVAC 2 02-06-2010 12:30 AM
Which honeywell thermostat should I buy for my Carrier heat pump? mannypp HVAC 29 01-30-2010 02:21 PM
Heat Pump Blower always on gg_daman HVAC 1 12-16-2009 06:15 AM
heat pump not working kyleGR HVAC 2 05-30-2006 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.