Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 01:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 27
Share |
Default

Auto Rollout switch


I haven't had to reset my manual rollout switch lately on Bryant 345MAV048100ACKA so that's good but I'm thinking to change it now to an "auto" reset and maybe save a trip out there in the future.
I found part #HH18HA211, which opens at 225 degree and closes at 175.
Of course I'd be concerned I wouldn't know something is making it trip that needs attention...but on the other hand it resets itself so...any opinions on using this part, and does that temperature range seem right for my unit? Appreciate all the help...you guys rule!
TruckTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 04:36 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Auto Rollout switch


NO!!! A roll out switch should be manual reset only. if it is tripping there is something wrong!
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 06:53 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,330
Default

Auto Rollout switch


Will void any house insurance if a fire occurs. Voids the UL and CGA/AGA gas certification of the unit also.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:36 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Auto Rollout switch


Thanks guys for confirming my fears, I won't be installing this auto switch. Waking up on fire is never a good thing
TruckTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:50 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,460
Default

Auto Rollout switch


Remember, the switch tripping isn't the problem. What is causing it to trip is the problem. look for and cure the cause, not the symptom.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Auto Rollout switch


I had the condensation backing up and cleaned out hoses, replaced a kink one, got all the water out...I think that was tripping it before. Had pros come out also and they set the fan speed down a notch and showed 120 degrees in the vent leaving the unit and near that up above at the closest register and said that was good.
TruckTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:02 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,460
Default

Auto Rollout switch


Be prepared for it to trip again.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Double switch wiring rockclimber Electrical 18 03-18-2012 10:13 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 02:17 AM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 08:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.