Attaching Plenum To Furnace. - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 10:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Attaching plenum to furnace.


I have my Trane XR90 wired and gas hooked up and I am ready to start the ductwork. Being this is my first install I am somewhat confused on how to install a plenum to the furnace. I am using a downflow in the horizontal configuration in the attic. On the inlet side there is a 1/2" or so flange that it looks like I could use sheet metal screws to attach a plenum. In order to do this the size of the plenum would have to fit around the flange exactly. Is this correct or is there a better more common way. Also I wasn't going to install an A/C coil but I may be changing my mind so I can add a/c later easier. The supply air side doesn't even have a flange. The metal is just bent at a 90 degree angle at the bottom and is completely flat. How can you attach a plenum to this? If you could somehow put a screw in from the inside of the plenum you cold go into the 90 degree bend of the metal. I think that if I were to install a coil on the furnance the outlet of the coil has a flange like the inlet air side. Is the furnace not intended to but used without a coil? Thats for your help

Advertisement

hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 08:08 AM   #2
Sin
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Attaching plenum to furnace.


Yes you use sheet metal screws to attach plenum. It should also be a good fit. I purchased a plenum at Menards 50 bucks maybe other home centers will carry them. These plenums you then cut to fit. Leave a little room for adding these. S-Cleats. They come in a long stick that you cut to fit.

http://www.audubonsupply.com/browse.cfm/2,156.html

They'll add a little support and beef up the sheet metal a little. That top cleat on that page is for fitting a run of two square ducts together. This shows what the plenum will look like. You'll need to cut to fit.

http://www.audubonsupply.com/browse.cfm/2,155.html

http://www.ductworks.net/xcart/home....rt_direction=1

Also used those s-cleats to attach inlet side.
Not familiar with AC coils. Good luck. That working with sheet metal
was the only hard part of installation. Wear some good gloves when working with sheet metal.

Advertisement

Sin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 09:33 AM   #3
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Attaching plenum to furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by hartkem View Post
I am using a downflow in the horizontal configuration in the attic.
I don't think you can do that?!
1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 10:02 AM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Attaching plenum to furnace.


could be wrong but I think a dedicated down flow cannot be used in the horizontal position. Did you check the
instructions
or did somebody just tell you it was OK?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 10:20 AM   #5
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Attaching plenum to furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1610 CUB View Post
I don't think you can do that?!
Sure he can....http://www.gotrane.com/Commercial/Up...1112/tux_c.pdf and http://www.tranesystems.com/resident...XR90-Furnaces#


OP you might see if you can get the A coil cabinet and install it at this time rather than having to re-do your tin work later.

I don' know the name of the item, but when I installed my furnace, I had a local shop make a bellow (sheet metal connectors on each side of a flexible section in the middle) that goes on each end of the air handler to isolate it from the rest of the duct work, and it provided a bit of give when installing everything.
__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 01:58 PM   #6
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Attaching plenum to furnace.


All I see at the web sight is up flow/horizontal and down flow/horizontal. Nothing said about no upside down down flow! Check your model number and make sure
1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Attaching plenum to furnace.


Yes the downflow can be used in horizontal. I have already went through the steps to convert it so the condesation drain flows correctly. I wish I had more experience with the S cleat and drive cleat. How close does the size of the plenum have to be to the size of the furnace outlet?

Advertisement

hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
First Furnace Install - Need Some Help Getting Started hartkem HVAC 17 10-11-2008 12:55 PM
Add-on Wood furnace billmac HVAC 3 06-18-2008 10:17 PM
Removing Extended Plenum Calm_Blue_Ocean HVAC 15 01-07-2008 06:22 PM
Whole House Air Cleaner joee HVAC 9 08-22-2007 06:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts