Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2011, 11:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

armstrong furnace problems


Hi everyone can anyone tell me about what might be wrong with this furnace it's a armstrong ultra 5 enhanced 95v. we had a repair guy out because it will not stay lit he said it was the flame sensor ,first he cleaned it and he charged my dad $136.00 to come out and find the problem and $88.00 to clean this rod, two days later my dad started the furnace because he has a pellet stove that he uses most the time and the furnace would not stay lit, when the furnace repair guy came back he said that the flame sensor rod was now bad and he would put a new one in for $196.00 but he would not charge to install it. we told him no and we went up to heating and air supply place in town and the flame sensor part was a total of $11.00 but it looks a little different, it's the same length but where the ceramic part is at the top it's just longer but we gave all the numbers to the lady at this place and she said that was the right one but the furnace still will not stay lit. I installed it and at start up the burners do lite but only for about 3 sec. that's it and on the circuit board the Leds blink 4times and in the book that came with the furnace it say's open thermal protection switch, but at one point when the furnace was trying to lite the led had a continuous flash and the book said a flame signal sensed, out of sequence. so now I cleaned the old flame sensor rod and it's in there now and it still won't stay lit. This furnace is about ten years old just to let you know. so I thought I would ask one of you guy's what you might think is the problem and if you think it's the thermal protection switch where is it located. if anyone can help that would be great! thank you for all the help. steve O
snipe609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 09:25 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

armstrong furnace problems


1. Flame signal need to be checked in series with the flame sensor measuring micro amps DC
2. 4 Flash code. Typically caused by restriction in duct system IE plugged filter or dirty evap coil or bad blower motor
3. Your furnace is know to have heat exchanger failures. Did the tech check for this before working on the system? The heat exchanger is what separates the fire and flue gasses from the air circulated through the house. Need to ensure the heat exchanger is intact.
4. it is possible that the control board is the culprit. check flame signal first. also check wiring harness plug ends to ensure good connection at the board and through the blower deck.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
snipe609 (01-29-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
hiel furnace problems plumbfitter HVAC 5 08-31-2009 09:54 PM
Armstrong Ultra 5 Tech 80 furnace rusty427 HVAC 1 12-24-2008 08:33 AM
Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems Cberkimer HVAC 12 10-20-2008 09:00 AM
furnace problems munkee HVAC 2 10-19-2008 07:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.