Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2010, 02:17 PM   #31
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Armstrong furnace how to wire humidifier


Quote:
Originally Posted by doublewide6 View Post
The furnace is calling for heat I have it set 10* higher then the room temp. There is no voltage at the solenoid, so that is why it is not opening. To check c and w do I just touch c and w at the same time and read the voltage? Thanks I checked C + W they have about 26volts. Across the hum and hum terminals on the Iaq reads 26v as well, but still nothing at the solenoid.
Update::: I noticed that on the wiring schematic W goes from the Iaq to the thermostat (used a brown wire), but I was wondering if I need to tie W to the furnace as well. If that is the case that could be my problem. Please refer to Pg. 11 Thanks again.
http://www.alpinehomeair.com/viewpro...ions_brochures

If I do have to hook it (the W wire) up to the furnace, here are the wires coming out of the furnace yet.
There is a Brown and White 14 gauge wire that is tied together with the black and the white 20 gauge from the thermostat and there is also a 20 gauge white wire from the outdoor heat pump. All of these are tied together with one wire nut.

There is also one 14 gauge black wire lead coming off the furnace that is not being used.

So of these 2 furnace leads, which should I connect it to? Thanks
the iaq is not calling for humidity if you are reading 26v across hum and hum. in the iaq screen make sure that humidity is set for auto and not off

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 02:25 PM   #32
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Armstrong furnace how to wire humidifier


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
the iaq is not calling for humidity if you are reading 26v across hum and hum. in the iaq screen make sure that humidity is set for auto and not off

Dang..that IAQ is really acting up...gotta tell 'ya
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 02:27 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Armstrong furnace how to wire humidifier


The IAQ is on auto. What about the brown wire connecting to the furnace? Thanks again
doublewide6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 07:20 PM   #34
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Armstrong furnace how to wire humidifier


Quote:
Originally Posted by doublewide6 View Post
The IAQ is on auto. What about the brown wire connecting to the furnace? Thanks again
you said you had 26v from c to w so brown wire is hooked up properly. you do not have something set right on the iaq if all your wiring is done as you say. you will have 26 v across hum to hum if you remove the stat from the base. it requires the stat to control the terminals. you can check the solenoid if you wire directly to transformer and see if it runs.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 07:47 AM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Armstrong furnace how to wire humidifier


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
you said you had 26v from c to w so brown wire is hooked up properly. you do not have something set right on the iaq if all your wiring is done as you say. you will have 26 v across hum to hum if you remove the stat from the base. it requires the stat to control the terminals. you can check the solenoid if you wire directly to transformer and see if it runs.
You were right everything was wired correctly. I just needed to reset the the humidifier to AUTO. I know that I did that prior to when playing around with it, but every time I hit the power it reset itself. So all I did was put it to auto and it kicked right on. I noticed that my 1/4 plastic water line is leaking, it is not leaking at the ends but somewhere in the middle. My water pressure is 55psi all I did was snake it through the ceiling. Do you think this is a manufacturing defect? Luckily I caught it in time that it only did a little bit of paint damage to my drywall, but I now have the water shut off at the needle valve and the hum turned off until I run a new water line. Thanks for all your help and I hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas. DW
doublewide6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 11:25 AM   #36
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Armstrong furnace how to wire humidifier


Quote:
Originally Posted by doublewide6 View Post
You were right everything was wired correctly. I just needed to reset the the humidifier to AUTO. I know that I did that prior to when playing around with it, but every time I hit the power it reset itself. So all I did was put it to auto and it kicked right on. I noticed that my 1/4 plastic water line is leaking, it is not leaking at the ends but somewhere in the middle. My water pressure is 55psi all I did was snake it through the ceiling. Do you think this is a manufacturing defect? Luckily I caught it in time that it only did a little bit of paint damage to my drywall, but I now have the water shut off at the needle valve and the hum turned off until I run a new water line. Thanks for all your help and I hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas. DW
I only use 1/4" copper line

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Armstrong Furnace Burner Cutout tcar HVAC 3 11-20-2010 10:26 PM
Add humidifier to outdoor furnace. prokop HVAC 3 11-30-2009 06:54 PM
Humidifier and dehumidifier on furnace loadie HVAC 2 12-07-2008 03:16 PM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.