Armstrong Furnace Burner Cutout - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2010, 08:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Armstrong Furnace Burner Cutout


Armstrong Furnace Ultra 80 Burner Cutout

It's cold in shy town and the furnace keeps cutting out, and on top of it, it needs to be re-set to start - ouch!!!

Furnace ignites well, all five burners turn on, runs for 30 seconds to a few minutes then, it shuts down, and the process starts over

Tried to jumper the pressure switch, same problem, maybe it last longer

Now it when it shuts down, I have to push the re-set button for it to re-start

Could it be a dirty sensor?, why would this require the unit to be re-set

I had to push re-set when I starved the furnace, by closing the doors to the small room the furnace sits in, worked fine after I re-set and kept doors open

Any ideas would be welcome...

Tcar

Advertisement

tcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 09:08 PM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Armstrong Furnace Burner Cutout


What reset button are you pushing? Sounds like a flame rollout limit. This could be a dangerous situtation. Post pics of what you are resetting.

Advertisement

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 11:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Armstrong Furnace Burner Cutout


tcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 11:26 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Armstrong Furnace Burner Cutout


Quote:
Originally Posted by tcar View Post
I had to push re-set when I starved the furnace, by closing the doors to the small room the furnace sits in, worked fine after I re-set and kept doors open

Tcar


How small is the room ?? Maybe starving the furnace for combustion air
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 02:24 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
furnace burner problem brent h HVAC 2 01-11-2010 08:50 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts