Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2010, 01:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Armstrong -A/C


Can anyone tell me if my armstrong ac have built in condenser ,compressor ?
Cant find the freon pipe line that goes outside the high rise building for the compressor big box.

The furnace have coil in it.and water drain hose that goes outside my unit
Model 51hwc242a-9b
Can't post picture but will be in future

Dbenzboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 06:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Armstrong -A/C


Your unit is a Magic Pak built by Armstrong (aka Allied Air). Your unit is completely self contained. The Compressor and Coil are located in the bottom portion of your unit and should be serviceable by sliding the lower chassis out.

__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 08:26 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Armstrong -A/C


Thanks for that info,
In order to service it,do I have to remove gas pipe line?
The chassis won't slide because the gas pipe attached to the whole furnace,
The only thing I can see it by removing sliding door then you will see the air filter and behind it is the coil .So you said compressor is beside it ?
Where is the filler for freon ?
Where is the blower located?
Do I remove the front panel to see that blower? Or the side panel?
Dbenzboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 06:29 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,103
Rewards Points: 102
Default

Armstrong -A/C


LOL... Have fun.

Its classified as a small appliance containing less then 5 pounds of normal operating charge. So the factory doesn't put any access fittings on it, for checking the charge.

The compressor is behind and to the right of the coil you see. Should be a small plate above teh coil, with several screws in it. You need to remove them. And to pull the molex plugs open. Then the heavey A/C chassi pulls out. Be very very carefull. they ain't light. As a matter of fact. that is 70% of the weight of the unit.

PS: Don't forget to disconnect the drain line before pulling the chassi. Or you'll damage teh drain stub of the unit.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Armstrong -A/C


Beenthere is absolutely right. The Magic-Pak is not for the faint of heart or ability . The company I currently manage is the wholesale distributor for the Allied Air line and I have seen very capable contractors struggle with these things.

This is not like a split where you have something sitting outside and sitting inside. This is a unit that is designed with the architecture of the building, so you stand a great chance of multiple issues if not properly serviced or handled.

I am a huge proponent of DIY, but I would leave this one to the pros.

Good Luck.
__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 04:11 AM   #6
Member
 
lloydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Armstrong -A/C


I'll bet this guy could help...


__________________
Broken Arrow hvac Broken Arrow Air Conditioning
lloydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 03:47 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Armstrong -A/C


Still can't see that blower from the picture .they said to able to service that blower ,must pull out the whole chassis .will this cooling box slide out and leave the heating unit intact.?,I just want to know if that's the procedure to remove it.
Why they made this thing so hard ?
How do you clean the blower if you can't see it?
Any video would help or time for pros
Dbenzboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 04:00 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,103
Rewards Points: 102
Default

Armstrong -A/C


The chassie pulls out. they made it that hard. because architects and builders wanted a unit they could stuff in a super small tight area. So they could charge people more for the extra 3 sq ft of living space they get with those units.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 04:06 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,422
Rewards Points: 68
Default

Armstrong -A/C


So true. The Skymarks are a lot easier to work on but have only been around for 10 yrs or so. Armstrong has the same unit from 20 yrs ago. The rest went kaput Ie:Fedders.

http://www.skymarkinternational.com/index.cfm

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I glue down an Armstrong locking hardwood floor? Fixitgeorge Flooring 10 01-30-2013 11:49 AM
Armstrong furnace Dbenzboy HVAC 2 08-28-2010 01:53 PM
armstrong engineered wood floring kbpelham Flooring 0 06-04-2010 01:30 PM
Armstrong unit vs York unit Nayr HVAC 5 02-04-2010 12:54 PM
Carpet in the basement Packer Backer Flooring 16 11-03-2008 11:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.