Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2008, 07:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

Aquastat transformer blowing


I have an old boiler and one day it would not start. I checked w/ volt meter and found tranformer was dead. I replaced it and it blew imediately. I can start the boiler manually by jumping the relay. Any idea what the problem is. Is it the gas valve?

scottsbws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


doubtful its the gas valve if its low voltage and working by jumping the relay how are you jumping relay just pushing contacts in? can you take pics?

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


The aquastat has a relay in it that I activate by wedging a plastic paint scraper in (don't laugh). This activates the circulator. Then there is a switch on the gas valve that says auto or manual. I switch it to manual and the boiler fires up. If pictures help I will be more then happy to post. But unfortunately I'm not home at the moment.
scottsbws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


the gas valve must be ancient if you can open it without electricity as a guess id say something within the aquastat is shorted but pics would prolly help
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


Yes..I heard it was ancient. But when I first found the transformer to be dead I replaced the entire aquastat. As soon as I turned up the thermostat to test it, it blew again.
scottsbws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


Quote:
Originally Posted by scottsbws View Post
Yes..I heard it was ancient. But when I first found the transformer to be dead I replaced the entire aquastat. As soon as I turned up the thermostat to test it, it blew again.
try reading for continuity between the terminals and the metal case of the valve one terminal at a time with wires off read them the same way(wires to ground). but really if the valves that old its more than likely the prob are you sure the aquastat turns the valve on and not just run the pump id think something that old would use a pilot generator(thermopile)
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


Quote:
Originally Posted by scottsbws View Post
I have an old boiler and one day it would not start. I checked w/ volt meter and found tranformer was dead. I replaced it and it blew imediately. I can start the boiler manually by jumping the relay. Any idea what the problem is. Is it the gas valve?
It takes quite a bit of power to immediately blow a xformer. Coils are usually hardy.
Input voltage way above 120v?
Less likely is a downstream short.
What volts, amps for this xformer?
Can you post a schematic?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
It takes quite a bit of power to immediately blow a xformer. Coils are usually hardy.
Input voltage way above 120v?
Less likely is a downstream short.
What volts, amps for this xformer?
Can you post a schematic?
yoy: its the little one i belive that is part of the aquastat as he said he replaced the aquastat there pretty small less than 40va i think
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:57 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
yoy: its the little one i belive that is part of the aquastat as he said he replaced the aquastat there pretty small less than 40va i think
So it's certain that it's blown? This one puts out 24vac? Thx.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 10:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Aquastat transformer blowing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
So it's certain that it's blown? This one puts out 24vac? Thx.
i dunno the answer to that just going by what he said

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C not blowing cold air... rnorred13 HVAC 9 04-03-2014 03:03 AM
Westinghouse Outdoor Transformer Question dandy Electrical 3 11-01-2008 01:53 PM
Central Ac transformer question Rschrei518 HVAC 4 10-20-2008 08:21 PM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM
Need Help with odd transformer jSPENCE Electrical 2 11-05-2006 06:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.