Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2012, 02:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Aquastat/Thermostat DHW question.


My mom moved into a new house last year which had a different DHW setup than she was used to. Before, she had an oil fired boiler for heating and a separate electric water heater. The new house has an oil fired boiler with an integrated DHW coil. She complained that the water was too hot and that she didnt like the boiler running all year long(even ran out of oil because she didnt think of it in the summer) and was considering installing an electric water heater. I figured that was not the smartest or most economical plan, and that easier things could be done, like using anti-scald valves, a mixing valve at the boiler, or just getting used to adjusting the water temp at the fixture more carefully(I never had a problem with DHW coils in the places I lived), but she and my brother-in-law went ahead and installed one anyway. She said she was happy with it and that now she could shut the boiler off during the summer months and save fuel.

My question is first, what the best option would have been for that complaint from an outside perspective and if killing the boiler for several months is a bad practice.

My other question was if it would be a recommeded practice to wire the aquastat and thermostat in series to eliminate having to manually turn the boiler off when there will be no calls for heating. It's just one zone, so wiring the devices in series will only turn the boiler on when there's a call for heating and it will cycle on and off then based on the aquastat. Is this a bad idea?

Nital101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 03:50 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,804
Default

Aquastat/Thermostat DHW question.


Electric water heater was the best option.

Aquastat can be wired to bypass the low limit function.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 05:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Aquastat/Thermostat DHW question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Aquastat can be wired to bypass the low limit function.
By that you mean...exactly what I described? or something different?
Nital101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:44 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,804
Default

Aquastat/Thermostat DHW question.


Only a wire change in the aquastat, nothing with the thermostat wiring.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.