Aquastat Relay Replacement - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2009, 09:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


Is this a DIYer? Just had a new gas valve put and guess what now the aquastat stops working?!

The guy wants to charge another $120 to come back out & the part is $180.

I would like to put this in myself if possible? Thoughts?

Thanks in advanced!


Advertisement

Carloscda40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 09:42 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


Could be a DIY. If they will sell you the part... Most places around here won't sell parts unless your certified

Advertisement

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 09:43 PM   #3
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


If you feel comfortable then yes this is a pretty easy job. MAKE SURE YOU DISCONNECT POWER.

Also, in the new Aquastat there should be some paste to put on the heat sensing bulb.

If in you need to take some close up pics so if you get confused you have a reference.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 10:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


Cool, because after paying $300 for him to put the gas valve on I really don't feel like putting another $300 for something I can do.

I'm mechanically inclined dealing with the basics so being that it's nothing special to worry about it should be no problem.

I have the receipt for the gas valve which is the same place he called in for the price of the aquastat. So we'll see...
Carloscda40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 10:25 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,033
Rewards Points: 704
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


Are some of them immersion (in the water type) or all of them in a dry well? He needs to know or will get the wrong one.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 10:29 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


Not saying there there are not some that are into water but all the ones that I have been around are into a dry well/orfice. Just had to put some paste one the temp sensing tip.

Good point to make Yuri.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 10:32 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,033
Rewards Points: 704
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


I used to do LOTS of boilers until I got specialized, then my plumbers took over. Saw a few that were screw in immersion type. That is why I let them do most of the water work. Don't mind the burners and controls.

http://customer.honeywell.com/Honeywell/UI/Pages/Catalog/ComponentCategory.aspx?Catalog=Homes&Category=Sing le+Function_3637&ChannelID={2EB2F178-20ED-44E0-97FB-CCFB4218DD64}

Last edited by yuri; 03-20-2009 at 10:42 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 11:37 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,407
Rewards Points: 4,466
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Are some of them immersion (in the water type) or all of them in a dry well? He needs to know or will get the wrong one.
That one looks to be a well mount.

You can see part of the screw on the top right side.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 01:12 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


Here's a couple other views..



Carloscda40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 05:42 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,407
Rewards Points: 4,466
Default

Aquastat Relay replacement


Those are to far from the control to tell anything.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boiler w. Hydronic Air & Honeywell Aquastat DanA28 HVAC 1 01-08-2009 05:21 PM
Replacement Sequencers - Comfort Aire AH stephech HVAC 3 11-23-2008 09:48 PM
sill replacement or? watchtower7 Building & Construction 5 06-07-2008 04:50 PM
newbie...relay problems jfabes Electrical 11 05-06-2008 05:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts