DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Aprilaire Humidifier, no water?

13K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  z33tec 
#1 ·
I just moved into my house in July. This is my first home so this is my first time dealing with a furnace/humidifier. I'm not 100% sure on how everything works, but I'm 110% sure that there is water involved in the humidifying process :laughing:.

With that said... I set my humidifier to 35% or so. My heat has been on so the humidifier should be on as well. I've never had a humidifier before, so I wasn't sure if I would be able to tell the difference or not. I didn't really notice any difference in the humidity of the air as I was trying to figure out which % to set it at so I thought I'd open the humidifier and take a look. It was dry as a bone. No water seemed to be coming out of the little white tube.

The only things I have done are:
1) Open the heating duct that lets air flow into the humidifier
2) Turned the humidifier on by setting it to 35%

Am I missing something. There looks like some sort of valve where it attaches to the hot water heater. Do I need to open that valve? I don't know if it is closed or open right now.

Here are some pics to help explain:

Here is where the water line attaches to the hot water tank

This is the valve that I am not sure whether it is open or not..

Here is the inside of the humidifier

It looks like I should probably replace the pad inside as it has lots of white build up (calcium I guess?) on it. Figured I would worry about that after I could figure out how I can get the thing to actually work.

There are some cards on the side that says it was serviced in 2003-2004. One says something about pinhole done in humidifier? No clue what that means.

Any ideas on how to go about getting this thing to work? :huh:

See less See more
#2 ·