AprilAire 700 Wiring On Old Furnace??? - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 05:49 PM   #16
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


You have it wired wrong if humidistat does not stay on 24/7. I think you have your transformers going to the wrong components. R and C from furnace control go to R and C on humidistat and should show power 24/7. Transformer from EAC terminals should be in humidifier circuit connected through HH terminals as depicted in the diagram.

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:27 PM   #17
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,097
Rewards Points: 606
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


There are several ways to wire this beast up. Mine is wired per the manual below... see the 700A (automatic h'stat) diagram. For the "24vac accessory terminal" connection I just use the W1 on the furnace board. This energizes the humidifier on call for heat.

With the xfmr wired like this the stat will always be on. You can hard wire the xfmr to the 120V power inlet box in your furnace or get a plug-in xfmr and mount near the stat. I chose the plug-in method since I have a handy receptacle near where I mounted the stat.

http://www.discounthumidifiers.com/v...structions.pdf
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:50 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


Well... All is hooked up according to the first diagram, but still no worky. No blower fan either so I suspect something else is going on. Time to eat crow and call in a pro. Thanks for the time and help everyone!
ryker99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:01 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


The control is suppose to be powered from the transformer that came with it. Specially since the HH terminals get their power from the R and C terminals. Wiring it the way you did, may have caused problems.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:20 PM   #20
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


I thought HH were dry contacts?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:11 AM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
I thought HH were dry contacts?
Nope, not on that control. Look at the Aprilaire wiring diagram.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:34 AM   #22
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


http://www.ntsupply.com/files/products/60wiring.pdf

I did and it shows dry contacts.................
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:46 AM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
http://www.ntsupply.com/files/products/60wiring.pdf

I did and it shows dry contacts.................

http://www.discounthumidifiers.com/v...structions.pdf
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:32 AM   #24
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

AprilAire 700 wiring on old furnace???


I love how aprilaire's own documents show it 2 different ways. Per what the model 60 control instructions show they are dry contacts. Per what the 700A instructions show they are live.

I just noticed that the 700A instructions show a different humidistat all together with different connections....



OP, which humidistat do you have? What terminals match your humidistat?

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring aprilaire 700 with carrier infinity chburdette HVAC 14 01-13-2013 05:33 PM
Trane gas Furnace wiring issue Praetor HVAC 6 08-13-2012 08:31 AM
Wiring Aprilaire 700a to Honeywell EIM and Furnace mk5tdi HVAC 9 03-09-2012 06:19 PM
Old furnace fan blowintg 24/7. Wiring question. grantb5 HVAC 16 09-28-2011 11:49 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts