Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 16
Share |
Default

Aprilaire 500 Install Help


I am installing an Aprilaire 500A whole house humidifier on my Carrier Weathermaker 8000 forced air unit. I have everything installed and I'm ready to do all the wiring. The model 60 control that I got is different than all the ones ive seen before. Instead of 10 screw terminals, this one has 11 with an additional Gf terminal. I could hook it up the way the instructions show, but it seems considerably more complicated than it needs to be. My furnace happens to have the HUM and COM points which should make this a breeze - can I use these instead of the goofy instructions they provide? What terminals get connected?

As a side question, on my furnace I noticed a second 18/2 line coming in and connecting to the Y and COM terminals but I dont know where it goes. It is not the thermostat wire and I have no other controls - could this be going outside to the A/C unit?

BaconK5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:29 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Aprilaire 500 Install Help


This is the control board from my unit. Note the extra 18/2 line coming in to the Y and COM
Attached Thumbnails
Aprilaire 500 Install Help-2012-12-04_22-30-46_406.jpg  

BaconK5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:30 PM   #3
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 463
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Aprilaire 500 Install Help


"extra line" is noted....looks like the AC control power to me
Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Aprilaire 500 Install Help


I checked in with Aprilaire and got it straightened out. They changed the way the solenoid terminals work and the default instructions are setup for blower activation. To remove the blower activation I just need to swap a couple of wires.
BaconK5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aprilaire 560 Install Questions MisterTFM HVAC 4 12-15-2011 12:35 PM
Help with new construction window install pac127 Windows and Doors 1 09-26-2011 08:36 AM
New deeper kitchen sink install problem jmalcolm Plumbing 3 04-27-2011 10:48 AM
New cabinets, subfloor & install height Ohming Building & Construction 10 03-02-2011 02:18 PM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 08:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.