Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-18-2006, 10:41 AM   #1

Share |

Anyone???

I'm a fairly recent graduate in the HVAC field and am going through only my second season of heating. I'm working for a property rental company and just got a no heat call. It's a Rheem Electric forced air furnace. The problem I'm having is that when I call for heat, it comes on and runs for about 2 minutes and then the 30 amp breaker for the furnace trips. I've ohmed out all 3 elements, the limit switches, the fusible links, and replaced the sequencer and still having the same problem. I've taken some amp readings and all seems okay. I was told by others that it could be grounding out somewhere, or that one of the elements is touching something( although I checked these and they were okay). Any suggestions???

nikko4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 01:21 PM   #2

Anyone???

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikko4 View Post
I'm a fairly recent graduate in the HVAC field and am going through only my second season of heating. I'm working for a property rental company and just got a no heat call. It's a Rheem Electric forced air furnace. The problem I'm having is that when I call for heat, it comes on and runs for about 2 minutes and then the 30 amp breaker for the furnace trips. I've ohmed out all 3 elements, the limit switches, the fusible links, and replaced the sequencer and still having the same problem. I've taken some amp readings and all seems okay. I was told by others that it could be grounding out somewhere, or that one of the elements is touching something( although I checked these and they were okay). Any suggestions???