Any Reason Why Not? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2011, 03:02 PM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any reason why not?


I'm wondering if there is any reason why I shouldn't turn off the furnace's breaker until next winter? There are at least two little lights running and regardless how small, they still use power!

Thanks!

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 03:17 PM   #2
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Any reason why not?


I am often reluctant to shut things like this down for fear they won't start when you go to switch it back on.....

The two LEDs on my boiler may cost a MINUSCULE amount of power during non-heating months. But they serve the purpose to re-assure me all is well.

Advertisement

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 03:26 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Any reason why not?


Turning the breaker to the furnace off means no air whatsoever so if you don't need it, not a problem to turn it off.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 04:17 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,034
Rewards Points: 706
Default

Any reason why not?


I agree with Leah. When I shut off the power to one of my computers the power supply cooled down, contracted and died. Computer service guy said that is not uncommon. Now I leave the power on all the time. The transformer runs warm in your furnace and cooling it down in theory may contract it, loosen the plates/windings and then it can buzz. 1 watt LED costs 1/1000 of a kw to run and you probably pay under $10c/kwh so it ain't worth it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 04:19 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any reason why not?


It's only for heat in winter, no A/C to it at all.
My "home-made cooling system" covers that for the most part, we rarely ever need to turn on a window unit.
So I can turn it off no problem?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 04:20 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,034
Rewards Points: 706
Default

Any reason why not?


Yep...
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 05:36 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 331
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Any reason why not?


I turn off my upstairs unit during the winter when my kids aren't here. Enough heat migrates that way from downstairs and it doesn't kick on. I hate hearing the upstairs heat pump turn on when nobody is up there. I would do it.
Marty1Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 06:19 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Any reason why not?


I'll bet those lights cost 2 cents a month.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 06:23 PM   #9
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any reason why not?


2 cents a MONTH???? We can't afford THAT!
Now I GOTTA turn it off!!!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 06:38 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,034
Rewards Points: 706
Default

Any reason why not?


Prevents global warming. No need to burn coal to produce the power for those LEDs. Gotta get me one of these to save my dollaros and burn off some carbs.
Attached Thumbnails
Any reason why not?-bicycle_generator.jpg  
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 07:01 PM   #11
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Any reason why not?


pick up a spare transformer and leave it inside the unit when you repower it in the falll chances are it might pop the winding on the primary or even that secondary
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 07:46 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

Any reason why not?


lol you guys crack me up
federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:20 AM   #13
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Any reason why not?


I fear Murphy's Law. I also think that any additional or unpredictable action can result in collateral damage.

How many times have you replaced a part or fixed something only to have something different and unrelated fail when you go to start it up?



For example: we took my huband's M3 in for an alignment yesterday. We took it to an excellent shop where we trust the people there completely (anyone want a recommendation for a speed shop primarily Subaru... PM me).

When we left the shop the convertible top no longer works. While I am certain they neither a) messed around with the top and b) are trying to generate more problems (because they don't have the knowhow to fix it); I can't help shake the feeling that the two actions are related.

Advertisement

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing roof rafter (any reason?) Joe1. Building & Construction 2 09-11-2010 11:01 PM
Any reason why to NOT use a GFCI somewhere? Red Squirrel Electrical 7 01-15-2010 02:16 PM
Chipped & Full round head nails, whats the reason ? iMisspell General DIY Discussions 4 12-14-2008 02:30 PM
smoke detectors going off for no reason? arichard21 Electrical 18 04-20-2008 11:37 PM
Any reason I shouldn't add to this circuit? Mdbuilder Electrical 11 12-07-2007 08:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts