Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2011, 02:48 PM   #16
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Share |
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


Connect all wires to the thermostat, call for heat.....inducer motor should turn on......after that you get error code....pressure switch. That's what you said in first post.

You can hear or see the ID running.

You need a multimeter to test the pressure switch......

What is the real problem: ID is not running ou error code ( pressure switch )?????????

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 04:44 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


thats what I thought, but thanks for the picture. That is not working. Never spins up. How to I tell whether it is a circuit board problem or the motor itself? I was able to spin it manually, so its not stuck.
dblckmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 05:13 PM   #18
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


Quote:
Originally Posted by dblckmr View Post
thats what I thought, but thanks for the picture. That is not working. Never spins up. How to I tell whether it is a circuit board problem or the motor itself? I was able to spin it manually, so its not stuck.
You'll need a meter to test voltage on the wires to the motor. Pretty much if a motor has power it but does not spin then it's bad.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
dblckmr (10-05-2011)
Old 10-02-2011, 06:19 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


Thank you all who have given me a Sunday lesson on Furnaces. It looks to me like the problem is the inducer, but its very disappointing to have only gone thru 2 heating seasons with my brand new furnace and I already have these kind of problems. I do have a meter so I will try and figure out how to use that. The inducer has 2 yellow wires going to one area of the inducer on the outside ring and a plug of Red, White, Black and Green plugging into the motor of the inducer. can I unplug it and put my 2 prongs in 2 of the colors to test if it gets a reading? On start what SHOULD the reading go from and to?
dblckmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:37 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


My tech info sucks so I deleted it.

Also if this furance is only 2yrs old the inducer should be covered under warranty and I would hope you have a 5yr parts and labor warranty. Or better yet a 10yr.

Last edited by SS laser; 10-03-2011 at 02:11 PM.
SS laser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:27 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


Hi there, it looks as though I am having the exact same problem as you...I have replace my draft inducer with no avail. Maybe through here we can get this worked out.
rpmm70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:33 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


additionally, the test you were trying to perform earlier is perform in this manner;

1. turn furnace power off
2. disconnect thermostat wiring to the control board.
3. connect the "G" to the "R" terminal with a jumper.
4. turn power on and when you do, touch the "R" to the "W1" terminal 3 times within six seconds. this will reset the stored codes in the board.
5. turn furnace power off.
6. connect all thermostat wiring.
7. turn power back on with tstat calling for heat

From the manual;
Fault Code Reset
The last 4 fault codes can be erased from memory by powering
up the control with G energized and then applying R
to the W1 terminal 3 times within 6 seconds. The control
will acknowledge the reset by turning on the Red LED for
2 seconds.
rpmm70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:37 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


the above post did not work for me as far as correcting my no heat issue. all my limits are made, switches are open, but no inducer fan. The fan is a 3 phase motor. 33-110 VAC variable speed motor. all three leads of the motor to ground on start up indicate 33 VAC to ground. (green wire of motor connector is ground, black white and red are power leads, each of which should have the same voltage, just a 120 degree phase angle shift for three phase).

However the above did reset the code on my board, and because the fan did not run, the code came back.
rpmm70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:36 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 error


When I realized I had a 5 year warranty, I ended up calling the installer. He came out and automatically said "bad circuit board". In fact they issued a new circuit board because mine had a recall. Too bad they don't take guidance from the auto industry and contact customers of recalls. He replaced the board and the inducer motor turned on right away......but, it also ended up with a bad pressure switch. Replaced that and now everything works great. this forum with all you experts has been a great experience with very good guidance. Thank you to ALL once again.

dblckmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 - flash code, american standard freedom 90 furnace dfferg HVAC 25 03-04-2012 11:21 PM
Help with an American Standard Freedom 80 Furnace cschwer HVAC 21 02-08-2011 11:33 PM
American standard freedom 90 error code CAMERON12 HVAC 3 01-30-2011 09:44 PM
american standard freedom 90 neight HVAC 4 04-29-2010 03:42 PM
American Standard Freedom 90 Operation Question goodtexan HVAC 1 01-31-2010 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.