American Standard Freedom 90 Codes - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2011, 06:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 codes


I have a Freedom 90 Furnace that is flashing a four code,
The flame lights, the exhaust blower kicks on, but the blower motor for the duct does not run. It says that the 4 flash code is a Thermal protection devise open
Can anyone help with this

Advertisement

Bskaggs560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 06:46 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 codes


Do you have and know how to use a multimeter? If so, see if your getting voltage to your blower motor.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 02:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 codes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bskaggs560 View Post
I have a Freedom 90 Furnace that is flashing a four code,
The flame lights, the exhaust blower kicks on, but the blower motor for the duct does not run. It says that the 4 flash code is a Thermal protection devise open
Can anyone help with this
I'm having this same problem, and have figured it has to be the main board or the blower motor. I measured the leads going from the board to the blower motor when it's calling for the blower to come on. It ramps up from 0 and then peaks and holds around 80 volts. Shouldn't it be showing 115-120? If the blower motor was only getting ~80 volts would it spin slowly or not at all? Would it be safe to disconnect the blower motor from the board completely, and then "hot wire" the motor with 115v to test the motor?

Last edited by phlach; 05-19-2011 at 02:24 PM.
phlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 05:02 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 codes


If you know how to wire correctly, its safe.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 05:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 codes


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If you know how to wire correctly, its safe.
Thanks. Maybe I'll try that. Can you confirm if typically the main board should be sending 115V to the blower? The board is a Wilson-Rodgers 50A65-475. If I've investigated properly, this exact board isn't made any more, but this one is a universal replacement. Is there ever a reason it should only send 80V to the blower? If not, then it seems I need to replace the board regardless of the blower motor condition. Would you agree?

Last edited by phlach; 05-19-2011 at 06:02 PM.
phlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 06:15 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

American Standard Freedom 90 codes


It should send 110/120 volts to blower, not 80.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower problem on American Standard Freedom 90 furnace ekimmo HVAC 8 08-27-2011 10:13 PM
american standard freedom 80 wont blow doglover HVAC 4 08-26-2011 10:51 PM
Help with an American Standard Freedom 80 Furnace cschwer HVAC 21 02-09-2011 12:33 AM
american standard freedom 90 neight HVAC 4 04-29-2010 04:42 PM
American Standard Freedom 90 Operation Question goodtexan HVAC 1 01-31-2010 06:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts