Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2010, 01:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

american standard freedom 80 wont blow


I have an american standard freedom 80 furnace. not sure of age. The blower wont run. Everything else seems to work fine. The code light flashes constant and fairly slow. Any ideas on what to check? I did turn motor shaft by hand with unit turned on and it took off but when I put door back on it would not continue to run. Im guessing it stop when I put door on and would not restart.


Last edited by doglover; 10-17-2010 at 01:49 PM.
doglover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 02:32 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,775
Rewards Points: 2,688
Default

american standard freedom 80 wont blow


Does it run when you put the fan to ON at the thermostat. If you have to spin start it then it sounds like the capacitor is shot.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 02:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

american standard freedom 80 wont blow


Thanks for relpy. I have a programable thermostat. Will the fan run even if the thermostat is not set to heat or A/C? The cap is about 5 or 6 inches tall andoval? Right? How much are they? Thanks
doglover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 04:08 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,775
Rewards Points: 2,688
Default

american standard freedom 80 wont blow


Should run if set to ON.
Yes. Should have a rating like 370 vac 5mfd or 7.5 or 10 mfd. Under $30.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 10:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

american standard freedom 80 wont blow


Where is the capacitor located? Thanks!
JBG420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with an American Standard Freedom 80 Furnace cschwer HVAC 21 02-09-2011 12:33 AM
American Standard Freedom 78 issues. Please help. kporter5414 HVAC 2 10-20-2010 08:14 AM
american standard freedom 90 neight HVAC 4 04-29-2010 04:42 PM
American Standard Freedom 90 Operation Question goodtexan HVAC 1 01-31-2010 06:01 PM
american standard freedom 80 KEITH112 HVAC 5 11-12-2008 01:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.