Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2009, 01:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


I have an AS 5000 gas furnace in my home. It is probably close to 15 years old. It has worked flawlessly up until just a few days ago. It will cycle "on" when told to by the thermostat. I can hear it "click" as it begins to cycle, the ignitor will come on, you can see the glow in the heat tubes and then it will click once or twice more and the glow will deminish. It will do this once or twice with the motor running, but the large blower fan in the bottom compartment will not switch on. The red light on the circuit board begins to blink red, but it simply flashes, no code or sequence. The tage on the board states for a "Flashing Red light, refer to your service manual". As the furnace was installed prior to us moving in 10 years ago, there is no service manual. If I turn the power off to the furnace and then immediately turn it back on again (via a "light swtich" on the side of the furnace near the control board) it will cycle/run just fine and heat the house. On occassion, will will cycle several times in a row as it should, before going back into its non-working/blinking mode.

Does anyone have any ideas what I should be looking at that may be causing this? I am guessing that it is a sensor or switch that has worn out, but I am not sure. The filter is brand new and I have even repalced the thermostat. I would rather not have to spend the $$ on a service call if I dont have to.

Thanks for all the help.

PyrateJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 09:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Can you measure for 24VAC to the gas valve when you hear a click after the hot surface ignitor glows?

What is the model number listed inside the burner section of the furnace?
I may be able to post a manual.

If no trouble code appears with these symptoms, it points to the board.

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 11:44 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Thank Houston, I appreciate all the help I can get.

The furnace is model: TUC100B948AC
The serial number is: F30545736

The light flash's in no sequence. it simply blinks for however long it is allowed to until I reset it either by turning the power on and off at the switch, or by the cover switch for the lower half that houses the blower motor.

I have no way of measuringthe VAC pressure.

Thanks again.
PyrateJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 12:02 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Double check the mod number,

Not working with the number you gave.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 12:07 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Rewards Points: 2,752
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Go to Sears or HDepot, Radio Shack and buy a inexpensive electrical multitester. A good one can be had for under $100. Cheaper than a service call.
Is it a high efficiency furnace with plastic vent pipes or a mid efficiency one with a metal pipe to the chimney?
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 01:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


I couldn't find much on Trane's site with a furnace that age. Looks like an upflow/horizontal condensate furnace.

http://www.trane.com/webcache/un/fur...0_05011999.pdf
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 03:41 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


For a model number, lets try changing the last character from a "C" to an "0", or TUC100B948A0.

It is a high efficiency furnace with a plastic vent pipe directly out the side of the house.

I'll have a volt tester later this evening and then will have to figure it out.

Here is a pic of the furnace unit if it helps any.

Thanks again.
Attached Thumbnails
American Standard 5000 gas furnace-furnace.jpg  
PyrateJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 03:45 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Got gas?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 03:52 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Got gas?
Yes. Issue is with the electrical, be it a sensor or the board.
PyrateJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 04:00 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by PyrateJim View Post
Yes. Issue is with the electrical, be it a sensor or the board.

How do you know you have gas coming out of the gas valve?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 04:37 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Rewards Points: 2,752
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Do you have a gas water heater or dryer or range and do they work?
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 04:44 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


am i the only one who knows about the recall on that beast?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 04:58 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


There is gas to the furnace because it heats up and heats the house when I restart it each time. The gas dryer and hot water ank work as well.

What recall?
PyrateJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 09:49 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Pyratejim , I am having the exact same problem now a year after you , I was wondering if you could tell me what was your out come on this issue , Thank you Prosa
prosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 11:11 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

American Standard 5000 gas furnace


Turns out mine was nothing more than a dirty, and starting to crack, heat exchanger. Cleaned that up, as well as arond the sensors and pump and all works fine. Had a furnace company come out and recheck and all was good, except the cracked heat exchanger. Tried to sell me a new furnace for $5200.00. So far, furnace is working great this year, no issues and still havent replaced it. When I do, should cost me around $2,000.00, through a different company.

PyrateJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 - flash code, american standard freedom 90 furnace dfferg HVAC 25 03-05-2012 12:21 AM
Help with an American Standard Freedom 80 Furnace cschwer HVAC 21 02-09-2011 12:33 AM
American Standard Freedom 80 Furnace not igniting all 4 burners chetw66 HVAC 2 09-25-2009 06:01 PM
American Standard or Comfortmaker Furnace jmff HVAC 16 05-03-2009 10:05 AM
American Standard Freedom 80 furnace weather_wolf HVAC 2 03-30-2008 09:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.