Amateur Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2009, 12:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Amateur Question


Hello,

I would like to recess mount my TV inside the wall.

the problem is that there is a rather large vertical duct that is preventing me from doing this.

Is there a way (or is it allowable) to decrease the diameter of the duct for a run of say 5-6 feet to allow for enough room for the TV to go into the wall?

John

Advertisement

lda130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 01:07 PM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Amateur Question


If you reduse the size you will reduce the CFM and change the velosity of air flow to the vent it is serving. That room will not get the correct air flow. It can be done as long as you dont mind being uncomfortable in the space the duct serves.

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 01:25 PM   #3
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Amateur Question


Re route the duct or, move the T V location...You will restrict air flow too much .If this is the main duct line. You will restrict air flow to other areas of the house & may get more air flow to other areas
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 01:34 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Amateur Question


Restrict the airflow and you will overheat the furnace and freezeup the airconditioner. Buy a large flat panel plasma tv and a special wall mount and charge your buddies for watching football and hockey so it pays for itself.

Last edited by yuri; 04-16-2009 at 01:38 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 01:35 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Amateur Question


Interesting,

Would this still be the case if I only reduce the size of the duct by about 6 inches or is there absolutely no leeway whatsoever in this kind of situation?

John
lda130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 01:37 PM   #6
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Amateur Question


6" is a lot I would not recomend it.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 01:37 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Amateur Question


Check my new edited advice above yours. Ducts are never oversized to begin with so I doubt you can alter it. Post a picture of it. Is it a supply or return duct.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 02:52 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Amateur Question


I don't know if it's a supply or return duct.

I know very little to nothing about HVAC

all i can tell you is that the duct is square/rectangular in shape.

It runs vertically, and is about 2 1/2 feet long by about 1 1/2 feet wide (approximately) and has insulation around it.

Don't know if this helps.

-John
lda130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 03:36 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Amateur Question


Is your unit in the attic. If it is insulated then it is a supply duct and no you cannot reduce it. Only way to know for sure what can be done is to call a HVAC contractor and get some advice. Not all of them know what they are doing or how to size ducts so I would leave well enough alone.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 03:52 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,546
Rewards Points: 4,730
Default

Amateur Question


Find another space to put your TV.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 08:08 PM   #11
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Amateur Question


buy a flat screen...problem solved..
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 08:24 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Amateur Question


Follow posts 10, 11, 12.

#12 Do not mess with the ductwork you will be sorry later.

Advertisement

SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 11:39 PM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 10:10 AM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 06:47 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 11:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts