Amana Vs Goodman Vs Rheem - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-09-2007, 10:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Amana vs Goodman vs Rheem

I had a Carrier Heat Pump unit that went out on me last week. I have gotten three quotes to install a new A/C and I am going to just have the air handler heat my home with the new system (no more heat pump). Which was suggested to me both the two guys I got quotes from, since I live in Nebraska and that heat pumps aren't really made for our cold winters.

One guy quoted the Goodmen and Rheem and a different did only the Amana. They both said that Carrier are not that good of units, but I have read online they are one of the best?

My three quotes are:
Goodmen $3700
Rheem $4500
Amana $5700

This includes everything (installation, etc.) I am pretty new at this and any ideas/feedback on which company is good, etc. would be great!

Thanks!

Advertisement

Last edited by billyrayvalentine; 05-10-2007 at 12:00 AM.
billyrayvalentine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 01:01 PM   #2

Rheem is good, Goodman is a low end unit, Amana is good. You might also want to consider Trane/American Standard [sister units the AS usually sells for less] which are IMO very good quality. Avoid the Carrier/Bryant brands [again sister units]; contrary to what you may have read, they are too problematic. Another issue is the decision to stay with refrigerant 22 or buy a system with refrigerant 410A. Also, what kind of heat will you have? With your current heat pump, the size of the electric heat is for second stage, defrost cycles and emergency heat. If your new system will be all electric heat, make sure it's enough kw to heat the house. That may also invoke the issue of whether or not the electric supply to the air handler is large enough.

Advertisement

jhd1234 is offline   Reply With Quote