Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2009, 07:22 PM   #16
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Share |
Default

with all bedroom doors shut does thermostat read correct temp?


Ask a silly question.. get a silly answer.. but why not just set the hall temp to 65?

According to your estimate then the bedrooms should get to 70 (if that's your desired temp.).

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 07:25 AM   #17
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Default

with all bedroom doors shut does thermostat read correct temp?


Are all the bedroom supplies individual (homeruns) runs from the furnace, or is there a trunk line
-about 10x16- extending part way down the length of the hall? You can actually branch off of either, but depending how gianormous the hall is the trunk would be better. Or just run another homerun supply from the supply plenum at the furnace. However you pick it up make sure it is as far away from the stat as the return, adjust the stat so the hall temp tracks the stat with the doors closed, and then check the temp in the closed bedrooms. They should all be within a degree or so of the hallway.
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 07:39 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

with all bedroom doors shut does thermostat read correct temp?


Leah, nice answer, to me anyway, this is one of those times where it seems to have gotten lost in the shuffle, if its too hot at night in those closed off rooms, turn the stat lower, done deal. This arose after having guests stay over, we all have our own comfort levels.
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 09:04 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 144
Default

with all bedroom doors shut does thermostat read correct temp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Ask a silly question.. get a silly answer.. but why not just set the hall temp to 65?

According to your estimate then the bedrooms should get to 70 (if that's your desired temp.).

It does sound simple enough, and worth a try as a the simplest fix, but for your idea to work you are assuming that then the doors are closed to the BRs all the time, in real life it just doesnt work that way. (yes i know programmable thermostat at 10 pm assuming everyone is sleeping with closed doors). Also with your way i'm creating a colder hallway then. but of course that's better than uncomfortable BRs.

i'm willing to put in the effort to get an even temp in the hallway as well as the BRs.
windowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 08:17 AM   #20
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Default

with all bedroom doors shut does thermostat read correct temp?


All I was assuming -right or wrong- was that the hall volume with the doors closed is about the same as one of your bedrooms + the stairway. If you do not want to move the stat then a quicker heat up of the hall, will over two or three heat cycles, leave the bedrooms cooler. A lot of people make the mistake of figuring a heat cycle covering a temperature range from the outdoor temp to the desired set point on your stat. Hopefully that only happens on initial start up. The rest of the time you are only dealing with 4-6 degrees during any one heat cycle.

Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I installed a new thermostat and the fan will not stop running. The wires are correct TSA0282 HVAC 2 03-02-2009 03:20 PM
A/C won't turn off with thermostat temp adjustment ( Goodman system ) rkpatt HVAC 3 07-29-2008 04:58 PM
It's hot outside. Keep the exterior doors and windows closed if running the A/C? Taylor Crockett HVAC 3 07-07-2008 05:04 PM
Doors freezing shut timp Automotive Repairs 10 01-18-2008 04:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.