Air Return Vents - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2012, 01:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

air return vents


as i was tearing out my basement i noticed what it looks like is 2 air returns. i went upstairs and i always knew i had 2 vents. i thought the smaller one was just a vent. i looked at it and realized it is just wall behind it. it isnt vented anywhere. the large vent is working correctly though. then i realized there is a vent near the celing. could that be a added return?
Attached Thumbnails
air return vents-img_2086.jpg   air return vents-img_2084.jpg   air return vents-img_2085.jpg   air return vents-img_2087.jpg  

Advertisement

jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

air return vents


i actually just took off the vents and the small one had cardboard over it! should i take the cardboard off and let it vent? also i just found out i desperatly need duct cleaning!!

Advertisement

jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 04:35 PM   #3
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

air return vents


You should insulate the ducts and seal the ducts joints.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 05:03 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

air return vents


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy
You should insulate the ducts and seal the ducts joints.
There is no need, if they are in a basement.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

air return vents


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
There is no need, if they are in a basement.
ya everything is in the basement and easy access. half of the basement is insolated and the other half isnt because they had drywall over them so im guessing thats why they didnt. how much does duct work cost? i could tear the old stuff out and what not. everything is easy access in the basement on a 1 story ranch. i think i could even do it if the price is alot. otherwise i could get them cleaned but i heard that can be expensive
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:27 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

air return vents


There is no need to tear anything out. If you think that there are problems with duct sizing, etc, then you need to pay to have someone come in and assess the situation. Unless you know what you are doing, tearing into a already working or half-working system, without the knowledge, would just make things worst.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 11:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

air return vents


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
There is no need to tear anything out. If you think that there are problems with duct sizing, etc, then you need to pay to have someone come in and assess the situation. Unless you know what you are doing, tearing into a already working or half-working system, without the knowledge, would just make things worst.
i hear what your saying. i do think it is undersized though. i think its the original
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:33 AM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

air return vents


If this was tract build, the contractor that built this home and others, could have cut corners, which is typical. If you get the duct sizing, equipment manufacturer & model #s, temp from the return at the furnace, temp at the farthest point, temp at the output at the furnace, temp at the farthest point, ambient air temp downstairs, ambient air temp upstairs in various room, there are others on here that can tell you if you are getting the best.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Return Vents and Air Handler Question hifiman HVAC 7 04-27-2012 07:44 AM
Closing off HVAC return and supply vents Kulingar HVAC 6 11-15-2011 10:22 AM
Distance between HVAC supply and return vents atlantatd HVAC 4 04-13-2011 09:30 PM
Oversized Furnace, Undersized Return Air vents and Low Heat Output.... ?? LabRat0116 HVAC 4 10-04-2010 09:53 PM
Where to put Return air vents in basement sj22 HVAC 12 06-08-2009 10:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts