Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 10:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


I just installed a new digital thermostat because my old one seemed to not shut off the heat or air conditioner properly. I can set the heater to come on and it seems to work fine but when I turn on the A/C (set it about 5 degrees below the current temperature) the outside unit turns on and keeps running and cool air seems to come out of the intake below the A/C unit but it does not come out of the vents. I am not sure how much information I should provide but I will try to answer any questions about the system I can. I appreciate any help I can get.

kevin82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 07:11 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,047
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


Did you hook a wire to the G terminal on the thermostat.
Needs to be hooked for A/C.
Also, make sure you don't have any of the wires insulation under teh terminals screw.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:14 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


I have a blue wire hooked into the G terminal and all wire insulation seems to be clear of the terminals. If it helps I have a 4 wire system white wire in W, yellow wire in Y, red wire in Rh, and blue wire in G. I hooked it up just like the old thermostat was except for a jumper wire from Rh to Rc. The directions for the new thermostat (a ritetemp 6022) didn't mention including this jumper wire so I assumed it wasn't needed? Thank you for your help with this.
kevin82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 10:58 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


You will need that jumper from RH to RC before the ac will work.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 11:21 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,047
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


Yep.
You need that jumper.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 11:44 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


Alright I was wondering if that would be the problem but I thought the separate jumper terminal next to the circuit terminals would have taken care of that? Please let me know if I am wrong and I will try running a jumper wire from Rh to Rc. I appreciate everyone's help with this.
kevin82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 11:47 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,047
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


If it has a factory jumper, that should take care of it.
Sometimes, the factory doesn't tighten that screw.
Check it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 01:43 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


I am going to check that everything is tight when I get home from work. I will let you know if that fixes it.
kevin82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:13 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Air not blowing out of vents when A/C on


I took everything off and connected it again and everything is running well. Thank you both for the help.

kevin82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing some vents rdmccaw HVAC 4 10-22-2008 01:00 PM
Big trouble with gable vents! Beth777 Building & Construction 9 08-11-2008 07:32 AM
ridge/soffit vents not enough?? cbice74 Roofing/Siding 1 06-16-2008 05:02 PM
sofit vents + gable end vents no ridge vent mattg1970 Roofing/Siding 5 10-18-2007 09:47 AM
Rookie Needs Help - No AC Blowing Thru Vents? BDPNA HVAC 13 05-15-2007 07:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.