Air Intake- Powered Flow-thru Humidifier - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2012, 10:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

air intake- powered flow-thru humidifier


looking to install a honeywell HE360A powered flow-thru humidifier in the basement.

can any one familiar with this unit answer this- does this unit suck outside air (in this case the basement air), or the air from within the duct work?

while the name implies it takes air from with the heating system duct but looking at manual it is not clear where the air intake for unit is.

thanks.

Advertisement

drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 12:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennesse
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

air intake- powered flow-thru humidifier


Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkjd View Post
looking to install a honeywell HE360A powered flow-thru humidifier in the basement.

can any one familiar with this unit answer this- does this unit suck outside air (in this case the basement air), or the air from within the duct work?

while the name implies it takes air from with the heating system duct but looking at manual it is not clear where the air intake for unit is.

thanks.
why would you want to use a power humidifier on a up flow furnace?

Advertisement

dosy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:37 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,440
Rewards Points: 4,526
Default

air intake- powered flow-thru humidifier


It only uses air fro inside the duct/plenum.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:18 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

air intake- powered flow-thru humidifier


thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
It only uses air fro inside the duct/plenum.
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 10:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

air intake- powered flow-thru humidifier


i am not familiar with the terminology but seems like since the hot air rises from basement to upper lever, it is called up-flow.

are you suggesting a by-pass unit is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosy777 View Post
why would you want to use a power humidifier on a up flow furnace?
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Humidifier Wiring to HAi Omnistat cipherman HVAC 10 11-09-2014 01:34 AM
Flow Thru humidifier solenoid CircuitBroad HVAC 4 10-13-2011 05:26 PM
Back flow on Humidifier Bypass Scott02 HVAC 0 01-27-2011 05:46 PM
Aprilaire Humidifier, no water? z33tec HVAC 5 11-18-2009 08:42 PM
very low shower head flow rickard681 Plumbing 7 10-08-2008 07:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts