Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2010, 08:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Air Handler will not blow


FY4ANF048 Carrier Air handler will not blow. I opened it up and the top of the coils are iced over. I turned off the AC and the ice leaves.

I have a sticker on the unit that says "Attention, Condensate shut off switch. If unit is not operating properly, check for condensate in drain pan or trey.

I cannot find this tray or pan.

Any help appreciated. It is about to get very hot here in SW FL and I have 4 kids. Thanks!
Holysmoke99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 04:52 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,468
Default

Air Handler will not blow


If the coil was frozen. Its generally not that switch, since that switch shuts off the A/C. And you wouldn't have seen any change when you turned off the unit.

Check air filter. Check blower motor. Check if bottom of coil is dirty.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Holysmoke99 (04-30-2010)
Old 04-30-2010, 07:13 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Air Handler will not blow


ya, that makes sense. Air filter is new, bottom of coil needs cleaned. How do I check blower motor and what am I looking for? thanks

Last edited by Holysmoke99; 04-30-2010 at 07:17 AM.
Holysmoke99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 02:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Air Handler will not blow


try operating the fan in the on position at the thermostat see if it runs
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 02:18 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Air Handler will not blow


all is running smoothly again, thanks
holysmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SPace Pak Air Handler Wiring Question--208-230/60/1 metal121 HVAC 5 05-07-2009 05:52 AM
Space Pac Air Handler Wiring--208-230/60/1 Volts metal121 Electrical 4 05-05-2009 10:20 AM
Air Handler flow problems dewalt HVAC 12 04-30-2009 07:59 AM
Proper way to clean the air handler drain lines lithium1330 HVAC 2 11-25-2008 09:48 AM
Replacing air handler - How to fit when form factors are slightly different?? hennyh HVAC 2 11-16-2006 08:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.