Air Handler Not Pushing Enough Air - HVAC - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 02:33 PM   #46
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanxo View Post
Well I figure Texas is hot as crap in the summer and can get pretty cold in the winter too so you all prolly know what you are talking about and if it works better than the crap I have going on now then I'm all for changing it up.

I have been told it's a 2 ton system.
I have done research on this style of duct system and they call it a Reducecd extended plenum duct system.
Apparently the plenum goes a certain distance then steps down a size as vents are run off of it.

I would love to be able to do a shorter plenum. It would make maneuvering around the attic alot easier.

You have a how to or some diagrams somewhere so I can maybe design a better configuration.

I'll work on all the details of that analysis today.

2 ton? You kidding me? What size trunk line is it from there it starts off? And how big are those duct take offs/flex duct lines?

Judging by the size of that trunk, the length and the size of the ducts your trunk line would be for something like a 7.5 ton minimum.

Let's say for each single ton you push 400 cfm. That would mean, and I'd have to ge out my ductulator and do some real research for the exact numbers, you could only use something like TWO 10" flext duct at best. That is all the air that system can push.

How many lines of what size duct is on that right now? No wonder you have no air.

http://efficientcomfort.net/Rules_an...ct_Systems.pdf

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:39 PM   #47
Member
 
ryanxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
2 ton? You kidding me? What size trunk line is it from there it starts off? And how big are those duct take offs/flex duct lines?

Judging by the size of that trunk, the length and the size of the ducts your trunk line would be for something like a 7.5 ton minimum.

Let's say for each single ton you push 400 cfm. That would mean, and I'd have to ge out my ductulator and do some real research for the exact numbers, you could only use something like TWO 10" flext duct at best. That is all the air that system can push.

How many lines of what size duct is on that right now? No wonder you have no air.

http://efficientcomfort.net/Rules_an...ct_Systems.pdf
There are 10 flex duct lines.
8 are 6 inches.
2 are 4 inches

Isnt the rule 1 ton per 600 square feet? That's what I was told.

According to that PDF. "A 2 ton system should have 10 or 11 outlets"
ryanxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:41 PM   #48
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Quote:
Originally Posted by dcastillo View Post
Im definitely not an AC expert....but wouldnt a 1344sqr ft house need more then a 2 ton system?

Rule of thumb only from the older days of less efficient systems such as the Trane XR11 woud be 500 sq ft per one ton. Btw, efficientcy means energy consumption, not that it won't produce cold or hot air, just that you pay more for it on your elecrical bill.

Nowdays, around here at least, they say 600 sq ft per one ton with insulation and envelope being so much better than the old days. Again, just a simple rule of thumb and not the correct or scientific way to size an hvac system to a structure.

Better to be slightly undersized than slightly oversized for dehumidification factor, heat intensity of the air molecules. A 72 degree air molecule with high moisture content (humidity) will feel hotter and stickier to the skin than a much drier 72 degree air molecule due to less moisture in the air.

In other words, a/c run time needs to appropriate enough to dry the air as an a/c system is a dehumidier. A bigger or oversized system will shorten the run time as it satisfies the stat quicker. Not good.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:45 PM   #49
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanxo View Post
There are 10 flex duct lines.
8 are 6 inches.
2 are 4 inches

Isnt the rule 1 ton per 600 square feet? That's what I was told.

According to that PDF. "A 2 ton system should have 10 or 11 outlets"
Funny, it all looks so much bigger in the pic, like they're 10's and 12's.

Perhaps if they are very small 6" duct lines. It's actually not the amount of lines you have but the combined total cfm the system has to offer and how you disperse it, with the correct sized ducts leading to a room of equal cfm requirement.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:47 PM   #50
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


http://www.alpinehomeair.com/related/Ductwork.pdf
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:53 PM   #51
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


http://www.udarrell.com/proper_cfm_b...g_systems.html
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:01 PM   #52
Member
 
ryanxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Rule of thumb only from the older days of less efficient systems such as the Trane XR11 woud be 500 sq ft per one ton. Btw, efficientcy means energy consumption, not that it won't produce cold or hot air, just that you pay more for it on your elecrical bill.

Nowdays, around here at least, they say 600 sq ft per one ton with insulation and envelope being so much better than the old days. Again, just a simple rule of thumb and not the correct or scientific way to size an hvac system to a structure.

Better to be slightly undersized than slightly oversized for dehumidification factor, heat intensity of the air molecules. A 72 degree air molecule with high moisture content (humidity) will feel hotter and stickier to the skin than a much drier 72 degree air molecule due to less moisture in the air.

In other words, a/c run time needs to appropriate enough to dry the air as an a/c system is a dehumidier. A bigger or oversized system will shorten the run time as it satisfies the stat quicker. Not good.

The XR11 is an older system? Dang i thought it was newer. How old is it? Maybe it's time for a new one while I'm at it.
ryanxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:07 PM   #53
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


If I'm not mistaken Trane prints the date of manufacture on their equipment data plate/sticker. American Standard and Trane are one and the same, why I'm posting the pic.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:27 PM   #54
Member
 
ryanxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Ok I have a pic of my air handler label that I took last year.

Looking at the manufacturer date now the air handler looks like it says 90 something but I know the outdoor unit was either 2007 or 2009 so that means they don't match I guess. Awesome! << Sarcasm


The pic is huge I'll resize it and add it later...

Last edited by ryanxo; 04-16-2012 at 03:29 PM.
ryanxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:35 PM   #55
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Post the model numbers of both the inside air handler and the outside condenser. The size will be in the model number.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:03 PM   #56
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Quote:
Originally Posted by dcastillo View Post
Could I check and see if its running slow by reading the current draw to the motor? (with a Clamp meter)

Or is there another way to verify the motor is running at full (proper) speed?

thanx
Danny
I usually just look at them. Seen enough to pretty much know by sight if its running slow or not.

If its bearings causing it to run slow, then the amp draw will be high.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 06:30 AM   #57
Member
 
ryanxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Indoor Air Handler:

American Standard Inc.
Model: TWE024C140A0
Serial: N3234X11V
Motor HP: 1/4
F.L AMPS 1.7
Volts: 200-230
MFR Date: 08/96 << I think its hard to read. I know it's 90 something
I took a pic of the outdoor one but apparently it didn't save on my phone. I know it's XR11 tho.
Aha found the model #: model: 2TWR1024A1000AB
Checking my notes I wrote down that the outdoor unit was 6 years old and this was last year meaning it is 7 years old now.
Aka manufactured year: 2005


I used the indoor model# to do some searching and found this other thread on a HVAC forum. The fellow was having the same issue where the air flow out of his vents was just a trickle and he could barely feel it. The issue turned out to be the main control board.... "After many (good) limit switches being changed, the repair company finally replaced the main control board and the furnace is back to working as it did after it was initially installed."

Could that be an issue with mine? When I first got the house the attic fan didn't work so it was pushing 140+ up there during summer days... It could have easily burnt something up.


dcastillo did you check out things at your rental last night? Any updates? I'm still hoping our findings overlap and fix both of our issues.

Last edited by ryanxo; 04-17-2012 at 07:48 AM.
ryanxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 12:15 PM   #58
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Of course it could be. All you need is an electrical meter to check the voltage being applied through the board to the motor.

I think I've already stated that on here somewhere, to check voltages.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 12:18 PM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanxo View Post

dcastillo did you check out things at your rental last night? Any updates? I'm still hoping our findings overlap and fix both of our issues.
Nope...
Love how the tenant complains about the AC, but cant seem to find time for me to come take a look....

-Danny
dcastillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 12:24 PM   #60
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Air handler not pushing enough air


Quote:
Originally Posted by dcastillo View Post
Nope...
Love how the tenant complains about the AC, but cant seem to find time for me to come take a look....

-Danny
Ha! I was out in BFE Conroe, about 65 miles from where I live, on a service call. The home owner was talking to me on the phone, the tenants had a very difficult time waking up to let me in. I was banging and banging on their door and windows as I knew they were there, their vehicle was on the driveway.

Said their a/c was out for over a week and she, the landlord, had other people there to try and repair the problem but the tenants would never wake up to let them in.

Go figure.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air handler blower will not come on? davvid20120 HVAC 8 04-01-2012 01:55 PM
Air Handler Won't Stop Running, Help Please!!! Ralph III HVAC 28 03-31-2012 11:48 AM
Air handler leaking kcamnairb HVAC 4 08-17-2011 05:32 PM
Proper way to clean the air handler drain lines lithium1330 HVAC 2 11-25-2008 10:48 AM
Replacing air handler - How to fit when form factors are slightly different?? hennyh HVAC 2 11-16-2006 09:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts