Air Handler Blower Runs For 20 Seconds Then Stops For 3 Seconds - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 05:47 PM   #1
John Ross
 
JohnRoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air Handler Blower runs for 20 seconds then stops for 3 seconds


Tempstar Air Handler FXM4X4800A1 Installed 09/2010.Tempstar Heat Pump TXH548GKA100 Installed 09/2010A/C system controlled by Carrier Comfort Zone 4 Zone System installed in 1992.

When AC comes on the Air Handler Blower runs for about 20 seconds then stops for 3 seconds then runs for about 20 seconds. This happens the entire time the system is running.

I turned the thermostats Heat Switch Off & the Cool Switch Off and turned the fan Switch from AUTO to ON & the blower motor did the same thing, blower runs for about 20 seconds then stops for 3 seconds then runs for about 20 seconds.


NO burning or other smells coming from the AC unit.


I opened the air handler service panel and this unit has a ECM Motor.

The blower wheel (squirrel cage) spins freely and is quiet.


The evaporators metal housing has what appears to be rust on the side under each of the copper lines where it comes out of the evaporator and goes back in. Not sure if this is normal for a 24 month old unit?


The evaporator coils fins are clean.

Other than shutting off & turning back on problem the system runs fine & the house is cool.

All three filters have been replaced.

Advertisement


Last edited by JohnRoss; 10-06-2012 at 06:46 PM.
JohnRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default


So the blower dosent get a chance to even stop rotating ? how does it let you know its shuting down and restarting ?

Advertisement

hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 02:33 AM   #3
John Ross
 
JohnRoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air Handler Blower runs for 20 seconds then stops for 3 seconds


So the blower doesn’t get a chance to even stop rotating?
Yes, blower never stops rotating.

How does it let you know its shutting down and restarting?
Air stops coming out of the vents.
All three returns stop pulling air.

Last edited by JohnRoss; 09-29-2012 at 10:57 AM.
JohnRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 08:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default


The blower motor has a bad run capacitor.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SeniorSitizen For This Useful Post:
JohnRoss (04-29-2013)
Old 09-28-2012, 09:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default


if the blower dosent stop rotating , how does the air stop moving ?
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:03 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 654
Rewards Points: 610
Default


The OP said it stops for 3 seconds so, the fan would slow down thereby lessening the air flow to a point that the flow would stop or not be noticeable at the supply registers.
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 10:36 AM   #7
John Ross
 
JohnRoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

This unit DOES NOT have a run capacitor.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairview View Post
The blower motor has a bad run capacitor.

I opened the air handler service panel and this unit DOES NOT have a run capacitor.
JohnRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:48 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Find the blower's wires at the control board terminals, use a multi-meter to see if the power is cut off during those 3 seconds.
clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 11:19 AM   #9
John Ross
 
JohnRoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I just found a VERY Honest HVAC repair company that quickly diagnosed this problem today 04/29/13.

A component inside the X-13 blower assembly motor was bad. The technician told me Tempstar has had a lot of problems with the X-13 motor and he has replaced a lot of them.

AC is now up and running without shutting off every 20 seconds as it did before.

Last edited by JohnRoss; 04-29-2013 at 11:24 AM. Reason: Problem Correctly Diagnosed
JohnRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 07:18 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 207
Rewards Points: 154
Default

x-13


Its not just tempstar having trouble with the x-13.
Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 11:31 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Replace the module.


Through the help of my HVAC buddy, my dad via telephone we figured out this problem is cause by the module at the back of the X13. Just two bolts and one connector it comes right off the motor. It was 200 for the module and 600 plus to replace the whole motor. Once I got the part took me about 30 min to replace. My replacement part number was Hk44ER155 my motor was 1/2 HP.
birdbirdbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 04:49 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 32,841
Rewards Points: 7,054
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by birdbirdbird View Post
Through the help of my HVAC buddy, my dad via telephone we figured out this problem is cause by the module at the back of the X13. Just two bolts and one connector it comes right off the motor. It was 200 for the module and 600 plus to replace the whole motor. Once I got the part took me about 30 min to replace. My replacement part number was Hk44ER155 my motor was 1/2 HP.
An X13 motor doesn't have a replaceable module. Only VS ECM motors have a replaceable module. X13 and VS ECMs are not the same thing.

X13, constant torque motor.
VS ECM, constant CFM motor.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 09:39 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,927
Rewards Points: 38
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by birdbirdbird View Post
Through the help of my HVAC buddy, my dad via telephone we figured out this problem is cause by the module at the back of the X13. Just two bolts and one connector it comes right off the motor. It was 200 for the module and 600 plus to replace the whole motor. Once I got the part took me about 30 min to replace. My replacement part number was Hk44ER155 my motor was 1/2 HP.
Not bad Pricing for retail. Glad that you figured it out.

I'm fairly sure the x13 was a sealed package, but many ECMs do have a separate sealed control module at the back. 2 bolts hold the shell together, a few screws/plastic clips and wires hold it together.

Cheers!
supers05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 09:53 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default


Here is the front and back of the module. It says its an X13 but also says an ECM motor. It was having the same issue ramping up then down.
Air Handler Blower runs for 20 seconds then stops for 3 seconds-img_4298.jpg

Air Handler Blower runs for 20 seconds then stops for 3 seconds-img_4296.jpg

Advertisement

birdbirdbird is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to birdbirdbird For This Useful Post:
beenthere (02-13-2016), supers05 (02-12-2016)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier air handler blower part pwrengineer HVAC 8 04-16-2011 12:42 PM
blower runs, with no heat captjack HVAC 6 12-14-2010 02:15 PM
furnace cycles, runs for 45-60 seconds shuts down and recycles again ronsmoneypit HVAC 4 02-03-2008 01:46 PM
RUUD furnace not working blower runs ddeatrick99@hotmail.com HVAC 2 01-16-2008 09:55 PM
Blower fan runs continuously mgeller HVAC 5 04-19-2007 09:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1