Air Handler Blower Doesn't Work In "Auto" Mode - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 05:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Hi everyone. New here and hoping to get some help. The problem I am having is that sometimes in "Auto" mode, the blower fan doesn't run. Thermostat calls for heat, the furnace starts and the pipes are hot. Only thing is that the blower fan doesnt start by itself. I suspected that the problem may be with thermostat but replacing the thermostat did not help. If I turn it to the "FAN ON" position it works great but fan will not kick in automatically the "FAN AUTO" position. What should I do? The problem is intermittent and seems to happen when the attic is very cold (not fully sure if this is the cause). Please help.

The air handler is made by FirstCo and is about 10 years old.

Advertisement

dvsrikanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 05:45 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Could be a temp sensor on the coil that is not working right. Or the water not getting hot enough to make it turn the fan on.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 05:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


The water is really hot. The pipes are hot and the whole attic becomes hot.

The funny thing is that every works well once I change the mode to "ON", let it run for few minutes and then put it back to "Auto". if temp sensor was the problem, will I get the above behavior?
dvsrikanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 06:14 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


You could depending what type of sensor they are using.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 11:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


The problem happened again today. Does the temperature in the attic, surrounding the air handler, affect the fan to be started in auto mode. Can this happen if capacitor is bad?
dvsrikanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 06:05 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


The air temp of the attic can effect it depending what type of control it is.

maybe you can post the brand and model number of the control that turns the fan on and off when in heat mode.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 02:13 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


The air handler is made by First Co

Model is 24MBXR-3HW

Fan coil Unit 27JF

Advertisement

dvsrikanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower cycling and vibration whatshappening HVAC 1 02-09-2010 05:48 AM
Comfortmaker blower problem rerobins HVAC 2 01-06-2010 11:38 AM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 02:21 AM
Low speed blower won't work in auto mode Eric F HVAC 16 10-29-2008 06:24 PM
Blower Doesn;t Work - But Does!! fauer Automotive Repairs 3 06-02-2008 05:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts