Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 04:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Hi everyone. New here and hoping to get some help. The problem I am having is that sometimes in "Auto" mode, the air handler blower fan doesn't run. Thermostat calls for heat, the furnace starts and the pipes are hot. The problem is that the blower fan doesn't start by itself if I set the fan to "Auto" mode. The problem doesn't always happen and it seems to happen more in the mornings. Initially I suspected that the problem may be with thermostat but replacing the thermostat did not help. If I turn it to the "FAN ON" position it works great but fan will not kick in automatically the "FAN AUTO" position. What should I do?

Shuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:19 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Post brand and model number of thermostat and air handler.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Is your thermostat set up for an air handler? When set for electric heat(air handler) the thermostat should turn on the fan with a call for heat. Set up for gas heat it lets the furnace control board bring on the fan.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:36 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Hi everyone. New here and hoping to get some help.

The system is hydro air, conventional boiler, super store hot water heater, two air handlerís one in basement for first floor heat and A/C, other in attic for second floor heat and A/C, the system is 12 years old. Air Handlers are both: First Co. Model # 48MBXR-9HW

The problem I am having is that sometimes in "Auto" mode; the air handler blower fan doesn't always start, the thermostat calls for heat, the furnace starts and the pipes get hot. It works fine if I change the setting on the thermostat to ďFan OnĒ mode, but then itís on all the time. Now, I have found that if I remove the face place from the digital set back thermostat and then put it back on the air handler will come on.

The problem doesn't always happen and it seems to happen more in the mornings. Initially I suspected that the problem may be with thermostat but replacing the thermostat three times did not help.

The original 2nd floor thermostat was identical to the 1st floor thermostat. My heating guy checked out the new thermostat and itís not the thermostat he just canít figure it out.

Now, these are two strangest things:
1. 2nd floor heat and A/C work fine
2. 1st floor A/C works fine

So the problem is only on the heat side of the circuit on the air handler on 1st floor, whatís my problem?
Shuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:44 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Probably a aquastat/temp sensor in the air handler is going out.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Hi BeenThere,
Can you elaborate more on this aqua stat/temp sensor in the air handler that you believe is going out? What is its location and what does it look likeÖÖ.thanks,
Shuttle
Shuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:18 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Not sure where it is. trace the wires from the circ to it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:34 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Its on the boiler, I don't have problem with the boiler, its the air handler that's the problem
Shuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:57 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Air handler blower doesn't work in "Auto" mode


Sorry, meant trace fan/blower wires to it.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched out capacitor and now blower does not work brikeyes HVAC 1 06-07-2012 07:14 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 08:06 AM
Furnace blower not working on heat mode Sixshot HVAC 1 10-26-2011 08:02 AM
Low speed blower won't work in auto mode Eric F HVAC 16 10-29-2008 05:24 PM
Blower Doesn;t Work - But Does!! fauer Automotive Repairs 3 06-02-2008 04:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.