Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-16-2008, 08:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Air Handler aux fan


I have a Goodman Air Handler in my attic. I would like to add an additional small circulating fan through a wall so that it comes on when the air handler comes on. This is to facilitate circulation when a bedroom door is close.
The blower has 3 #12 wires going to a printed circuit board that all appear to have voltage to them. Another wire(16 ga) goes from the capacitor to power also.
How do I hook up the aux blower. This is a small fan motor about 1/64 hp.

Keniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 05:59 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Air Handler aux fan


OK so no body seems to know how to hook up this fan. Suppose I put a 24 volt relay in the thermostat circuit and have that cut on the 120v to the aux fan. Can I do that?

Keniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 07:38 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Air Handler aux fan


I personally would use a relay...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 08:10 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Air Handler aux fan


Thanks for the input. Can I get away with one relay or do I need one in the cooling circuit and one in the heating circuit?
Keniki
Keniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 12:02 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Air Handler aux fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by Keniki View Post
Thanks for the input. Can I get away with one relay or do I need one in the cooling circuit and one in the heating circuit?
Keniki

Check your tstat, sometimes, G terminal is energized during a call for heat and cool.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 08:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: N.W. of Chicago
Posts: 56
Default

Air Handler aux fan


Do you have an air handler with a heating and cooling coil or a horizontal furnace with a slant coil?

Check your thermostat for the terminals R-W-G-Y and sometimes C.

The thing to do would be to put a 24 volt relay powered by the W and common terminal for the heat mode and a relay powered by the G and common mode for the cooling and manual fan operation.Of course the relay would operate the 110 V. for your aux. fan.

Thermostat designations are
R- 24 V. power
W- heat
G- manual fan control/cooling fan operation
Y- compressor for cooling
C- 24V. common
__________________
If it's true that you learn from your mistakes- I'm getting one heck of an education
thumbkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 06:47 AM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

Air Handler aux fan


1/64th on the HP you might want to consider running the 120V hot leg thru a duct mounted air pressure switch.with this you make the supply air proofing the switch,and the fan runs heating or cooling.the switch can be mounted on the unit supply duct just up from the add on fan location,and makes it easier to break the fan power.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 10:13 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: N.W. of Chicago
Posts: 56
Default

Air Handler aux fan


That would be easier than adding relays. Air pressure switch or a sail switch would work. Also there might be a terminal on the board for an electronic air cleaner or eac. That would energize whenever the unit calls the fan to run.
__________________
If it's true that you learn from your mistakes- I'm getting one heck of an education
thumbkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 10:59 PM   #9
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Default

Air Handler aux fan


The fan motor is 3 speed, each #12 is a different speed. One of them is actually hot, with current flowing through it. The other two appear to be hot because they're back-fed through the motor.

If you can be sure that the fan only operates on one speed, you'll have 120 from that speed to neutral. Be careful though, some units operate the fan on different speeds for heating and cooling.

As stated above, alot of these control boards have terminations for an electronic air filter, some of them hot up one of the terminals, sometimes it's a relay contact that you run power to, and the load out of.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 07:34 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Air Handler aux fan


OK, I have found the wire from the G terminal on the tstat that has 24v when the fan is running in manual/heat/cool. I have also located a 24-110 v relay that takes 530mw to energize the contacts. Will the tstat provide enough power to work that relay?
The switch in the duct sounds like a good idea, but where do I find one. What is it called? I have checked air/duct/sail switches in the MCS catalog and washed out.
I cannot figure out why, if all the #12 wires have voltage to them, that the main blower is not running all the time.
I appreciate all the help with this project.
Keniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 06:31 PM   #11
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Default

Air Handler aux fan


The G terminal on the t-stat wiring will easily operate the relay coil. Since the control voltage is 24AC, polarity on the relay coil doesn't matter.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 06:49 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: N.W. of Chicago
Posts: 56
Default

Air Handler aux fan


sounds like you have a single speed fan if you get 24V at the G terminal in heat and cool.Usually the heat runs on low speed and cooling runs on higher speed cause cool air is heavier and harder to move. If you have a control supply house or a heating and cooling supply house they should have a sail switch. Might even try Grainger.
__________________
If it's true that you learn from your mistakes- I'm getting one heck of an education
thumbkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 08:42 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Air Handler aux fan


I hooked up the relay with a fuse yesterday and it worked fine.
Thank y'all so much for all the help. I really apperciate it.
Keniki

Keniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Heat Pump/Air Handler replacement hennyh HVAC 62 06-18-2012 05:11 PM
Slowing fan motor speed in air handler Manuel6 HVAC 7 04-17-2007 09:01 AM
Goodman Air Handler with Missing Parts cougarhsv HVAC 2 01-17-2007 08:14 PM
Replacing air handler - How to fit when form factors are slightly different?? hennyh HVAC 2 11-16-2006 08:23 AM
Drainage from air handler jack B HVAC 1 05-07-2006 08:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.