Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 09:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Air exchange not working?


Hello, Im new here. I bought my first house with an air exchange. The house was built in 2002 and it is a Bryant air exchange. The only time I can get it to turn on is if I open the door then close it. there is push button switches in all the bathrooms, one in the kitchen and one in the laudry room. If I press one the light comes on but not the unit. The main control has a dial to set humidity and a 3 way switch with off/int./low and 2 LED's on/ air exchange. The on LED never comes on either.

Tcwrencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:40 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,898
Default

Air exchange not working?


if you are talking about the door switch on the exchanger then maybe it is faulty/making a poor connection.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:55 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Air exchange not working?


Yes, the door switch. If I open the door, then close it. The unit comes on, runs its course then shuts off. Then if I press one of the switches in the bathroom, it will not run again.
Tcwrencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:29 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,898
Default

Air exchange not working?


1) Hold the door open and press the switch in. When power is applied the unit does a self test and cycles thru all the fan speeds etc, happens after power failures too. NO danger to run it with the door open unless you have hippie hair and it gets sucked in to the fan.

2) DO NOT release the button. Get another person to go press one of the timer/push buttons buttons upstairs. If it works then you know the switch is weak and kaput. If nothing works then there are problems elsewhere.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 05-28-2013 at 11:31 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:37 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Air exchange not working?


Thanks, I will try that. It sounds like that is whats happening, the self test. Im not completely sure how the whole system works. Im assuming that the swithces in the bathrooms should turn the system on when pressed and that the thermostat will control it the rest of the time.
Tcwrencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:48 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,898
Default

Air exchange not working?


Yep. It is a de-humidistat not thermostat. If it still does not work then you need to call a Bryant or Carrier dealer and make sure they have someone familiar with those units. Lots don't. Carrier owns Bryant, same machine.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:40 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Air exchange not working?


So, I opened the door and taped the switch down. At first it did nothing. I went into the bathroom and hit the switch in there and it came on, ran its cycle and shut off. I left it sit awhile. I hit the switch again and nothing happened. Also, it says heat recovery ventilator on it. Not sure if there is a difference between a HRV and an air exchange. By doing that test I know the HRV unit is good, right? Now I need to figure out if its the dehumidistat or the wall switches. Im thinking its the dehumidistat.
Tcwrencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:50 AM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,898
Default

Air exchange not working?


hrv/heat recovery ventilator or sometimes called air to air heat exchanger same thing different words. there are ERVs energy recovery ventilators which are the same but use a different core. Door switches are cheap and can get weak. I would bypass the wiring on it and try again. Pushing it in is no guarantee it is making good connection internally.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 08:37 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Air exchange not working?


I made a jumper wire to bypass the door switch and nothing changed. I press the bathroom switch and it runs through a "self test mode" then shuts off. When I press the switch again nothing happens. The "ON" light on the dehumidistat never comes on either.

Tcwrencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Filled Gas Furance Not working szym0n HVAC 1 02-21-2011 04:46 AM
Receptacle stopped working lovetobuild Electrical 3 02-11-2011 10:05 AM
side by side light swithes not working katkell2645 Electrical 2 10-17-2008 07:22 PM
Two switch in one box: only one working jdtsmith Electrical 12 09-29-2008 01:32 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 01:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.