Air Conditioner Tripping At Current Interrupter - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2009, 01:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


I have a Kenmore air conditioner (model 580.75101) that is acting up on me. Every day, the unit is shut off by the current interrupter. At first I figured that there was a surge coming through and tripping it, but as I paid more attention I decided that something else may be to blame. This is happening at 12:40 PM and 8:40 PM each day. I don't run it at night, as it's downstairs and we're all asleep upstairs with units in our rooms, but I suspect that if I did run it at night that it would cut off at 4:40 AM.

What makes me think that this is not a timer issue is that it makes absolutely no difference when I turn the unit on. For example, It could be 1:00 or 8:35 when I turn it on, and it will shut off at 8:40. Once it shuts off, I give it 3-5 minutes and then turn it back on, and it's good to go until the next "scheduled" shutoff time.

When it runs it runs great. It is nice and cool, and all of the functions work. The current interrupter just likes to trip at those specific times. I have tried plugging it into different outlets in different rooms, and it makes no difference. No other electrical device in the house has any issue - just this air conditioner.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I am new to this forum, and not very experienced in electrical matters.

Thanks in advance for any help you may have.

Don

Advertisement

donny.frankrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 02:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Quote:
Originally Posted by donny.frankrice View Post
the unit is shut off by the current interrupter.
You mean that huge fat plug they now have on ACs?
If it's reliably on the nose at 40 minutes past it sounds like an issue with the AC internal logic board. Maybe there's a Tech. Service Bulletin out on this from Sears.

Advertisement


Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-06-2009 at 02:59 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 02:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


That's the one.
donny.frankrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 03:21 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Does Sears post their service bulletins, or do I need to call them? All I see on their site is a space for recalls.
donny.frankrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 04:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Quote:
Originally Posted by donny.frankrice View Post
Does Sears post their service bulletins, or do I need to call them? All I see on their site is a space for recalls.
The best is to somehow speak/write to a factory engineer. Next try customer service; they might send you instructions or a part.
A Google search might turn up something.

I don't see how this peculiar symptom can be caused by something external to the AC. . .
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 07:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: northeast tennessee
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Those circuit intrupters,on the 580,were a problem. Most of the time,it was the power cord,interupter,itself. Replaced several,under warranty,before retiring from Sears.Hope this helps. d scott
d scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 08:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Quote:
Originally Posted by d scott View Post
Those circuit intrupters,on the 580,were a problem. Most of the time,it was the power cord,interupter,itself. Replaced several,under warranty,before retiring from Sears.Hope this helps. d scott
"A deus ex machina literally "god from the machine") is a plot device in which a person or thing appears "out of the blue" to help a character to overcome a seemingly insolvable difficulty"

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-10-2009 at 09:19 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 08:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: northeast tennessee
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Yoyizit,I only speak redneck.Thought I might help out a DIYer.Didn't mean to offend,with some very aged experience. d scott
d scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 08:53 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Quote:
Originally Posted by d scott View Post
Yoyizit,I only speak redneck.Thought I might help out a DIYer.Didn't mean to offend,with some very aged experience. d scott
It was a compliment; you saved the day! Your experience is better than my guesstimates.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-10-2009 at 09:19 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:04 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Now, if someone cut that thing off and installed a regular plug, it may solve the problem...
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 03:08 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

air conditioner tripping at current interrupter


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Now, if someone cut that thing off and installed a regular plug, it may solve the problem...

my thoughts exactly,unless youve got this thing hhardwired to the panel(sarcasm) whats the point its protected by breakers or fuses down the line

Advertisement

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool Main breaker keeps tripping beckyreyes Electrical 12 08-11-2013 05:06 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker woodworksnmore@comcast.ne Electrical 15 03-28-2008 02:47 PM
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 09:25 AM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 02:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts