Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2011, 10:37 PM   #1
cay
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air Conditioner breaker trips randomly


It can go weeks without tripping...but once it starts it seems to happen more often. As the days get hotter and more often it trips more often. I will try to explain more. It's an outdoor Air Conditioning RUDD unit.

The house is 1100 sq ft. Heater and Stove is propane. No dishwasher, washer or dryer. Never had to put freon in it for over 5 years. Keeps the house plenty cool still for me in my dog.

I clean the unit at the start of every summer...leaves, grass etc... I have noticed that some of the wrapping of copper pipes is starting to break down outside.

When I checked the outside breakers...there are two red switches...each has 40 on it. I did notice that one switch reads upside down.

I have had some problems with electric breaker in the house. The house was built in 1978 and what I can tell nothing has been done to the inside.

I am not much at DIY but need to learn.

Thank you for any help you might offer.


Last edited by cay; 06-17-2011 at 10:40 PM.
cay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:26 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Air Conditioner breaker trips randomly


check all the electrical terminals from the condenser into the CB panel where the feed goes out to the condenser..could be a loose terminal.check the compressor contactor for carbon arc'g wear.with residential when the unit satisfies the pressures are 250 PSI /65 PSI with Freon-22..so when it satisfies off from the stat those pressures will start to balance out thru the system just for the math thats 315 PSI/2 equals 157PSI the closer it gets to that equalized off pressure the easier the restart....if the unit quick cycles after being off that 250/65 is to much high side pressure for the compressor to push against and pop goes the CB....but check all 208V wiring connections and contacts first.when any compressor starts even fan motors they draw 10X the tagged amps for a milli seconds called "locked rotor amps" like your starter in your car turning the fly wheel major physics there.does your stat have any configuration for adj OFF time on the cooling cycle?

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
cay (06-18-2011)
Old 06-18-2011, 09:53 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air Conditioner breaker trips randomly


Quote:
Originally Posted by cay View Post
It can go weeks without tripping...but once it starts it seems to happen more often. As the days get hotter and more often it trips more often. I will try to explain more. It's an outdoor Air Conditioning RUDD unit.

The house is 1100 sq ft. Heater and Stove is propane. No dishwasher, washer or dryer. Never had to put freon in it for over 5 years. Keeps the house plenty cool still for me in my dog.

I clean the unit at the start of every summer...leaves, grass etc... I have noticed that some of the wrapping of copper pipes is starting to break down outside.

When I checked the outside breakers...there are two red switches...each has 40 on it. I did notice that one switch reads upside down.

I have had some problems with electric breaker in the house. The house was built in 1978 and what I can tell nothing has been done to the inside.

I am not much at DIY but need to learn.

Thank you for any help you might offer.
Mine used to do the same thing. But I have a fused box outside, and I think you are saying you have regular switches. Anyway, the breaker inside the house trips, but not the outside fuses because they are a little slower to react.

So, after eventually acquiring a peak reading clamp on ammeter, the previous poster is correct--the PEAK current drawn at startup is much more than the breaker rating. So to make a long story short, my breaker in the house was simply a little weak, and replacing it did the trick. Good luck! (It helps if you have an electrical type friend)
boogeyman36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 12:50 PM   #4
cay
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air Conditioner breaker trips randomly


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
check all the electrical terminals from the condenser into the CB panel where the feed goes out to the condenser..could be a loose terminal.check the compressor contactor for carbon arc'g wear.with residential when the unit satisfies the pressures are 250 PSI /65 PSI with Freon-22..so when it satisfies off from the stat those pressures will start to balance out thru the system just for the math thats 315 PSI/2 equals 157PSI the closer it gets to that equalized off pressure the easier the restart....if the unit quick cycles after being off that 250/65 is to much high side pressure for the compressor to push against and pop goes the CB....but check all 208V wiring connections and contacts first.when any compressor starts even fan motors they draw 10X the tagged amps for a milli seconds called "locked rotor amps" like your starter in your car turning the fly wheel major physics there.does your stat have any configuration for adj OFF time on the cooling cycle?
Thanks for your help...I will do my best.
cay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 12:51 PM   #5
cay
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Air Conditioner breaker trips randomly


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
check all the electrical terminals from the condenser into the CB panel where the feed goes out to the condenser..could be a loose terminal.check the compressor contactor for carbon arc'g wear.with residential when the unit satisfies the pressures are 250 PSI /65 PSI with Freon-22..so when it satisfies off from the stat those pressures will start to balance out thru the system just for the math thats 315 PSI/2 equals 157PSI the closer it gets to that equalized off pressure the easier the restart....if the unit quick cycles after being off that 250/65 is to much high side pressure for the compressor to push against and pop goes the CB....but check all 208V wiring connections and contacts first.when any compressor starts even fan motors they draw 10X the tagged amps for a milli seconds called "locked rotor amps" like your starter in your car turning the fly wheel major physics there.does your stat have any configuration for adj OFF time on the cooling cycle?
this is great...I will check it out...
cay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, breaker box, rudd, trips breaker


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to test that a breaker trips on short BradSG Electrical 13 07-08-2010 08:45 AM
Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker Michael H Electrical 22 06-29-2009 08:22 AM
Air Compressor Motor Hums, Trips Breaker pointertopica HVAC 10 12-02-2008 10:20 PM
20 Amp Breaker only trips once in a while panhandlion Electrical 14 11-26-2007 08:36 PM
breaker trips when too much is used lightone Electrical 11 04-29-2007 10:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.