Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2010, 07:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Air Conditioner


Someone please help me. I have a totaline air conditioner the temp on the thermostat is set on 70 but thermostat is reading that is 93 degress in the house. How do I calibrate the thermostat to get it cool?

thank you


Last edited by batcgray; 09-14-2010 at 07:28 PM. Reason: to make sentence clearer.
batcgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Air Conditioner


is the a/c unit working ??? What makes you think it's the t.stat ??

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:40 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

Air Conditioner


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
is the a/c unit working ??? What makes you think it's the t.stat ??
The icicles on his nose.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Air Conditioner


yes it works, but the fan is running but its not cooling off.
batcgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:44 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

Air Conditioner


Then maybe your stat is reading the right temp. And its your A/C that has the problem. Is the small line warm, and the large line cool/cold at the outdoor unit.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Air Conditioner


I think it needs to be reset, but I don't know how to reset the thermostat. This unit is set automatically set the thermostat to heat when the weather starts to cool off and automatically set when the weather starts to heat up, but the only problem is that's still out outside and I cant reset the thermostat. does that make any sense?
batcgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:54 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

Air Conditioner


Not 100%.

Look at your thermostat, for a system switch, or mode button.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:03 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Air Conditioner


I have a mode button.
batcgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:04 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

Air Conditioner


Quote:
Originally Posted by batcgray View Post
I have a mode button.
Push it, until the screen says cool.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:10 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Air Conditioner


I've tried that already. It will display cool but the unit is not kicking in to make it cooler.
batcgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:23 PM   #11
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Air Conditioner


do you have a split system ?? Is the blower blowing air out the vents... Check outside unit & see if it's running
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:30 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

Air Conditioner


There very well may be a problem with your unit, and not your thermostat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:32 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Air Conditioner


I'm going outside to check the unit to make sure that it is running.
batcgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:39 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Air Conditioner


the unit is on, but it is making a buzzing noise.
batcgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:42 PM   #15
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Air Conditioner


is the fan on top turning ?? Feel the large line (with insulation) on it is it cold / cool ?



Take care of him Been. I've got to go

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Air Conditioner trips breaker Cano Electrical 4 07-11-2010 10:29 AM
Air Conditioner Wiring Cano Electrical 3 06-28-2010 07:18 AM
Heat pump vs. Furnace and Air Conditioner heating&cooling HVAC 11 06-16-2010 06:07 PM
air conditioner tripping at current interrupter donny.frankrice HVAC 10 07-07-2009 02:08 PM
Air Conditioner HELP jray2855 HVAC 6 06-30-2006 08:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.