Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2009, 12:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


I have an old Montgomery wards air conditioner. M/N SRM-51332A.
The motor died, it's part number is :K55HXMPZ-6560. It is an Emerson.
I got an Emerson 5462 to replace it.

http://www.emersonmotors.com/products/ecatalog.htm. I can't get a direct link to the page, so simple put 5462 in the part number search box(method 3) and it will pull it up.

The old motor has 4 wares coming off it, the new one has 5 wires, plus a green ground wire and a yellow and orange wires that I can use to change the motor direction.

How do I hook this up?
It looks like the Black and Red wires attach to the connector switch, and then brown and white connect to the capacitor. I don't know where to connect the remaining brown/white stripe wire. I did notice if it touched then chassis of the unit the motor will spin.

Natural the wires have a different color scheme on each motor.

Any help would be appreciated. I can send pictures of the wiring area in the condenser if needed.

Thanks.

Geekoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 11:42 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


Any wiring diagram in/on the box, on a paper, or the motor?

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 12:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


Not for the old motor.
I do have the wiring Diagram for the new motor. I will post a link to it's image when I get home tonight.
Geekoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 02:27 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Geekoid View Post
I have an old Montgomery wards air conditioner. M/N SRM-51332A.
The motor died, it's part number is :K55HXMPZ-6560. It is an Emerson.
I got an Emerson 5462 to replace it.

http://www.emersonmotors.com/products/ecatalog.htm. I can't get a direct link to the page, so simple put 5462 in the part number search box(method 3) and it will pull it up.

The old motor has 4 wares coming off it, the new one has 5 wires, plus a green ground wire and a yellow and orange wires that I can use to change the motor direction.

How do I hook this up?
It looks like the Black and Red wires attach to the connector switch, and then brown and white connect to the capacitor. I don't know where to connect the remaining brown/white stripe wire. I did notice if it touched then chassis of the unit the motor will spin.

Natural the wires have a different color scheme on each motor.

Any help would be appreciated. I can send pictures of the wiring area in the condenser if needed.

Thanks.
Black is high speed (A/C tap)
Orange is Med speed (Heat tap)
Red is Low speed

White is netural

Brown and Brown w/white strip is capacitor
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 03:07 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


Awesome, thanks.
I'll try it when I get home. I don't have an orange wire, but I assume the others are the same.
I have Red, White, Black, Brown Brown/White.

The precious motor was only one speed, 1075, so do I just disregard the low speed wire(red), or does it need to be connected with the high speed wire(black)?

Thanks again for your help, can't wait to get my AC going again.

Last edited by Geekoid; 08-19-2009 at 03:10 PM.
Geekoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 05:20 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


Black is high speed (A/C tap)
Red is Low speed (Heat tap)

White is netural

Brown and Brown w/white strip is capacitor


Is this in a Mobil or Modular home?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 05:42 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


It's a stand alone single family dwelling built in '79.
Neither mobile or modular.
Why?

Thansk again for your help.
Geekoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 05:52 PM   #8
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


-------
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer

Last edited by Plumber101; 08-19-2009 at 06:01 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:00 PM   #9
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


OK I just googled the motor number and it is a condenser fan motor.

Forget the wiring I told you earlier and use this,

Black - contactor T1
Red - contactor T2
Brown and Brown w/ white stripe goes to capacitor

Fan blows air out the top.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:12 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


OK, cool.
Thanks.

Where does the white wire go?
Geekoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:15 PM   #11
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


Switch the red and white. Put white to the contactor and tape off the red.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:17 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


will do.
Geekoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 09:20 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


That set up didn't work.
How do I know if the previous motor was 3 line circuit or 4 line circuit?

The direction you gave(thanks again) seemed to be for the 4 line circuit.
How would it be set up for a 3 line. I found the wiring diagram, but frankly I don't understand it.It seem to say the brown wire goes to the cap, the white wire goes to the cap and to the 220 line, the brn/wht wire goes to the 220 line as well.

here is a link to the diagram:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/41636297@N07/?saved=1

oh, I don't know if it matters but the connector had a t1 and t3 label, no t2.
Geekoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 10:43 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Air Condensor motor help.


OK, somehow I pop the 30A slow blow fuse. How I did it without knowing is beyond me.

The hook up you suggested works. Thank you very much.

Geekoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5462, emerson, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.