Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2008, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Air Coditioner won't run...HELP


Yesterday I noticed it was getting hot in the house so I found out the air conditioner was not running. The fuse looked like it was possibly blown so I replaced that and still nothing. I then checked for power on a voltage meter and power was there. I have talked to my father and he said it was likely the thermostat, circuit board or transformer. I just read on the internet that older air conditioners(mine in about 12 years) should not be using the round thermostats they should only have digital, is this true. I have had a round honey well on for the past three years when the original went out. Is there a way to check if the thermostat is bad, also how can I find out if the circuit board or transformer is bad. Any other suggestions on what it could be?

ahsmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 06:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 152
Default

Air Coditioner won't run...HELP


you checked the voltage was it the line or control in other words was it 120-230 or 24 if you had 24 volts from the r to c terminals your transformer is good . The reason for the t-stat is new units have delays that wont allow you to turn the system on and off and on and off realy fast this can damage the equip digital t-stats have these delays as well not likely the reason . while transformers can just go they are often are often asc. with a contol short somewhere else in the system first check for 24v at the circuit board and tell me what you see , be carefull 24 wont hurt but line will

geo fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 04:34 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

Air Coditioner won't run...HELP


remove the stat off the subbase,your now viewing the stat wires coming from the furnace and the transformer.with a paper clip jump R to G ....your fan should start.this test proves 2 things..... you have line power(fan on) and 24v transformer with the jump bringing in the fan relay...you won't get shocked with the jumping with a paper clip..if concerned put a piece of tape where you will hold it when you jump.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, circuit board, thermostat


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.