Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2012, 10:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


I am finishing my basement and would like to have a separate thermostat to control just the basement. I have a damper system in my house currently that allows my to have separate temperatures on the main floor and the upstairs both having their own thermostats. In the basement I see where there are 3 green lights on the HVAC unit thinking that it's set up for 3 zone damper. I am hoping to be able to turn on the heat and air in the basement with it just blowing down there and not the rest of the house. Thanks

Frank0132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 11:30 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


you need to verify there is a zone damper built in for the basement duct work. It is highly unlikely there is currently a damper, but there may be. Pictures?

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 03:18 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


Brand name and model number of zone panel would tell us if its a 2, 3, or 4 zone panel.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


Thanks for the responses, I will try and get a picture to show you how it looks
Frank0132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


Hers a picture
Attached Thumbnails
Adding a thermostat in the basement-image-3423492598.jpg  
Frank0132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:59 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


Anothericture
Adding a thermostat in the basement-image-4029860296.jpg
Frank0132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 01:01 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


looks like all your zones are already taken on that panel. You'll need an expansion panel and dampers for the basement. Also depending on the size of the basement vs the other zones you may need a bypass.
rebelranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 04:56 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


Still has one zone open, only 2 are used at the moment.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 03:15 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


Since I still have 1 open zone when I hook up a thermostat will that automatically control the basement seperarate ?
Frank0132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 03:20 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Adding a thermostat in the basement


If you install dampers for the basement and wire them up it will.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (09-28-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
Adding recessed lights in basement tbone2004 Electrical 8 05-11-2011 10:19 AM
Adding new furnace vent in basement campbellp HVAC 0 12-11-2010 08:41 AM
Adding second thermostat to HVAC unit hoanphu HVAC 3 12-07-2010 05:24 AM
Adding a basement Sliver Building & Construction 5 05-16-2009 10:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.