Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2012, 09:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Adding a return vent


I am thinking of opening up the return vent in the basement and adding a vent that I can open in the summer, with the A/C off and the air handler fan in the on position to pull cooler air in the basement to the rest of the house good or bad idea, its usually 10-15 degrees cooler in the basement.


twfsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 326
Default

Adding a return vent


Is the furnace room open to other areas of the basement? Do you have fuel burning appliances in the immediate vicinity? Hot water tank, fireplace etc.
If you draw return from an enclosed space you can cause a negative pressure in that area and potentially pull burnt gas products down the venting system if you have fuel burning appliances in the same area. If you don't have fuel burning appliances in the basement and you make your return opening in the return drop as you indicate it should be OK. It will be noisy being so close to the fan, but I'm guessing you don't have your lazy boy and big screen right there anyway.

HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 03:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Adding a return vent


Thanks for your reply. I have a fairly big room where the furnace and w/heater is located enclosed a couple of pic's and a lousy diagram. I did this on the previous furnace and had no problems,just wondered if it was worth the trouble, oh and I did check the temp difference between upper and lower levels its only 7 degs, but it feels like a meat locker downstairs.





twfsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 03:30 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,488
Default

Adding a return vent


With no supply/supplies in the basement, its a bad idea.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 01:43 AM
return air vent swoop HVAC 0 06-08-2011 07:46 PM
Adding on to cold air return agicr HVAC 13 03-27-2011 01:33 PM
Return air vent question sidewayzisbest HVAC 5 05-10-2009 03:39 PM
Running network wiring in a cold air return vent? mcvane Electrical 26 04-19-2007 07:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.